01 logo

iMac 24”: Review

Is It Worth Your Money?

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
10

Apple first announced its brand new iMac at their Spring Event on April 20th, 2021. This was to be their first major update of the computer for several years. I snapped one up as soon as it became available and I would like to share my hands-on review with you.

Why I was drawn to the iMac

Over the last few years, I have slowly been migrating to the Apple Ecosystem. Up to this point, I had spent many years with Microsoft Windows computers. The design allure and the ‘otherness’ of another operating system and platform have, however, been calling to me for years.

I started on my Apple journey with the iPhone and later progressed to the iPad and Apple Watch and I have loved them all. With the release of the new iMac then, I decided to take things to the final stage and replace my Windows PC with an iMac.

Specifications

The previous model iMacs were of the now-iconic silver variety. 21.5” and 27” screens with Intel chipsets and processors. The design language hadn’t changed since 2016, a lifetime in computer terms. In 2021 Apple gave its computer a major design overhaul. The new model is a 24" machine, but many Tech commentators report a 32" Pro version may eventually become available. The bezels have been slimmed down to allow the bigger screen size not to overly increase the product’s actual footprint on your desk. This is a boon for those of us without endless space in our homes.

The screen depth has been slimmed to an incredible 11.5mm! Seven colours are now available to choose from, silver, green, blue, pink, yellow, orange, and purple. This harkens back to the days of the original iMacs, available in many colours of its translucent case. This had revolutionised the home computer industry, allowing you to personalise your experience rather than having just one of the ubiquitous beige boxes of the time.

It is strange then, that for over a decade now, this revolutionary computer was once again relegated to being available in one colour only, silver. For me, the new bright colours make a welcome return to the brand identity and individuality of the old.

Unboxing

The computer comes well protected in a heavy but very attractive box with a picture of your chosen colour of iMac on the outside and a colour-coded handle.

The box contains the iMac itself, already assembled, not even the stand needs to be attached. There is a power cable, and if you opt for the mid-range or higher model, this includes an additional box with the ethernet port. The keyboard and mouse, both Bluetooth, are already paired to the computer so no faffing about required. There is also a USB‑C to Lightning cable included.

I was pleased to discover that the power cable and USB-C to Lightning cable are colour matched to your iMac, so mines are yellow. The iMac stand for mine is a gold colour as is the underside of the mouse and keyboard.

The front bezel of the screen is white with the ‘chin’ of the computer a pleasing yellow. The back of the computer is a beautiful, burnished gold colour which I think looks stunning.

Screen

Upon booting up my iMac the first thing I noticed was the quality of the screen. Apple gives you one year of their Apple TV+ service free and so I dived right in. I pressed play on the show ‘Trying’ and I was blown away by how beautiful it looked. I tried the same show on my 4K TV and I have to say, it looks better on the Mac. The rich colours and crystal clear display are beautiful to behold.

Speakers

I had bought a set of Edifier speakers for my PC and had intended to use them with my new computer too, but so far I haven’t felt the need to set them up. Apple announced at their April event the new iMac would have the most advanced speakers of any model to date and I can believe it. Now, those audiophiles amongst us may prefer high-end speakers with all the bells and whistles but for me, and many others I suspect, the built-in speakers will do nicely.

Webcam Quality

In today’s COVID world it is perhaps more important than ever to have the ability to FaceTime family and friends and conduct meetings with good video quality. The previous 21.5" iMacs made do with 720p webcams which give subpar images and don’t live up to the demands of today.

The new model has a much improved 1080p webcam and a 3 mic array. Combined, these improvements make video calling infinitely better. I was immediately impressed with the beautiful, colourful and clear video and audio quality the first time I used FaceTime on my new machine. This has made it much more feasible to take meetings, work from home and keep in contact with family, safely and easily.

Keyboard

Coming from a lifetime of Windows PC’s I was immediately struck by how different the iMac keyboard is. Rather than a mechanical action with long key travel the Mac keyboard is more akin to a laptop keyboard to my mind. The key travel is fairly short and quiet and its overall size is fairly small. About the same size as that of my 15” Windows laptop.

It does take a little while to get used to its action but once you do it is quite comfortable to use and being Apple, it looks beautiful. It is Bluetooth and so no wires to mess up the aesthetics and it comes with a yellow cable that can attach to the computer for charging purposes.

The top right key has TouchID which is a great addition to allow you to enter password-protected websites and download apps from the AppStore without having to enter your password.

Magic Mouse

Coming from the Windows ecosystem I wasn’t sure what to make of the Magic Mouse at first. No scroll wheel and no right-click button! After using it for a while I’ve found it a revelation.

No right-click is needed because holding the button down on your icon of choice in the dock opens the menu that a right-click would normally be responsible for.

No scroll wheel, no problem. I was delighted to discover the entire upper surface of the Magic Mouse is touch-sensitive. Dragging your finger up or down its surface scrolls the page up or down. Genius!

Processor / Speed

This is the feature of the 2020/2021 Macs most discussed in the media. The much-vaunted M1 Apple processor makes everything work snappily. Even with 8GB of RAM onboard, my iMac is an absolute delight to use. All 2020 Macbook Airs, Mac Minis, and 2021 iMacs share this same processor and it is plenty fast enough. I haven’t found it wanting in any area.

Models

The entry-level model contains just two thunderbolt ports, 256GB storage, and 8GB unified memory. Crucially for those who don’t get great WIFI reception and thus prefer to connect via Ethernet cable, this model doesn’t even have an Ethernet port! This costs £1249.00.

The mid-point model in the range costs £1449.00 and adds two USB 3.0 ports plus an 8-core GPU for better graphics, rather than the entry-level offerings 7-core GPU. An Ethernet port is also included here along with Touch ID built into the keyboard.

The top-end machine has all the attributes of the mid-point model but with a bump in storage to 512GB. If like me, you intend to use this as your main computer for several years, the extra storage space will come in handy. This brings the price up to a true wallet-emptying £1649.00.

Final Thoughts

The 24” iMac is a marvel. In so many ways an improvement on its forbears and one which sets Apple’s computer in good stead for a successful future.

I love my new computer with its beautiful design, great screen, much-improved webcam and speakers and of course who could forget the power of the M1 processor.

Apple being Apple, of course, this is not the cheapest computer in the world but I would suggest, for me at least, it is the most beautiful one.

If you can afford it and you can justify the undoubtedly high purchase price, you will be rewarded with a wonderful and powerful computer and one which should meet most needs for years to come.

I certainly love my yellow iMac and I do not regret my buying decision one jot. I highly recommend it!

_______________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work.

If you enjoyed my piece, please consider clicking the little heart beside my name. Tips aren't necessary but would be most welcome.

If you are interested in reading more of my work, please click on my picture below.

product review
10

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.