01 logo

Apple Watch Series 3: Worth it in 2020?

Need help deciding whether the older model is worth it? Look no further!

By The White FoxPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Apple Watch Series 3: Worth it in 2020?
Photo by Alvan Nee on Unsplash

If you're like me, you can appreciate luxury at a good price. I enjoy the finer things in life without having to break the bank. If I can snag something awesome at a discount, I will. Newer isn't always better, but it is almost guaranteed to be more expensive.

The fine piece of tech I'm referring to is the Apple Watch Series 3. I wanted a great smartwatch without a hefty price tag, and considering the price of the brand new Apple Watch Series 5 ( prices for the series 5 can exceed $500.00 ), I had to weigh my options. So, I decided to do some research between the two models and settled on the older version.

If you're on the fence like I was, this review may help you decide between splurging on the series 5 or saving some money and stepping back a couple of generations into the series 3.

General Comparisons

Some quick specs on the Apple Watch Series 5 include:

  • Always-On Retina display
  • Multiple materials and finish choices
  • More detailed heart health features
  • Emergency SOS, Fall Detection, International emergency calls
  • Electrical heart sensor , Optical heart sensor , Dual-core S5 chip , Digital Crown with haptic feedback , Cellular connectivity on GPS + Cellular models , GPS , Compass

In comparison, the Apple Watch Series 3 includes:

  • Raise-to-wake retina display
  • Aluminum only case
  • High and low heart rate alerts, Irregular heart rate alerts
  • Emergency SOS
  • Optical heart sensor , Dual-core S3 chip , Digital Crown , Cellular connectivity on GPS + Cellular models , GPS

So as you can see, the watches are quite similar with few, but noticeable technical and physical differences. If one model's specs are make-or-break for your purchasing decision, go with the model that fits your needs the best. If you're more money conscious and still need some convincing, however, keep reading ahead to get my personal take on the series 3.

Aesthetics

By Marcin Nowak on Unsplash

The Apple Watch Series 3 comes in a classic, sleek Apple box like its sister products. Everything you need to get started is packaged neatly into one little rectangle. The watch itself is sleek, clean, and comes with either a black or white rubber strap.

The watch face is a bit bulky, but certainly not ugly or overbearing on the wrist. I purchased the 42 mm watch face and it sits nicely on my small wrist. My preference is toward a larger screen due to my clumsy fingers and poor eyesight. I find that this size is perfect to be able to see the graphics clearly and navigate the software easily.

The watch has a limited collection of available faces to choose from, but are quite customizable. Everything you need to customize your watch face is located conveniently in the iPhone app.

One thing I really appreciate about this watch is that new straps are affordable and can make this watch fit any person's image. You can make it look as simple, sporty, cute, or professional as you like with custom bands.

Performance

By Daniel Cañibano on Unsplash

The large screen on the 42 mm makes finding and using apps easy. The touch screen by itself is acceptably responsive, though I have had a little trouble at some times getting it to respond. This wouldn't be much of a complaint if it weren't a brand new watch.

The dial and previously used apps button on the side work fine and are responsive. The dial moves smoothly, so if a clicky dial is more your style, this version will not provide that satisfaction. Clearing previous apps is simple; just click, swipe, and tap the red X.

Battery Life

By Steve Johnson on Unsplash

I wore this watch for three days straight and it hung in there. I was stuck on the road for work for much longer than expected due to some complications and did not bring my charger. With minimal use ( i.e. only checking the time, texts, and fitness stats) it lasted as long as I needed it to. When you do have a charger available, the fast charging feature minimizes much of the frustration of a dead watch. My watch, on average, takes only about an hour to two to fully charge.

Comfort and Convenience

By Gian Prosdocimo on Unsplash

I believe comfort depends mostly on the type of band you select. The soft yet firm build of the default band is comfortable enough to sleep in if worn loosely. During the day, my band does not usually distract me or interfere with my activities. I hardly even notice that I'm wearing my watch when working out, working, or driving.

The default band is easy to adjust. Just pop the pin in the preferred hole, slide the slack through the loop, and you're ready to go.

Final Thoughts

By Lilly Rum on Unsplash

So, do I recommend the series 3 in 2020 over the series 5? Yes. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative to the series 5 that does basically everything the same, save for a few minor details, go with the series 3.

I personally only use my watch as a way to better hear text alerts, tell the time, and track my fitness. The series 3 serves all of these purposes very well. I also mess around with some of the other features from time to time as needed, so it's nice that they are available. Frankly, I'm quite excited to put my watch on each day as I leave the house!

If you learned something, appreciate my work, or if I have helped you make a purchasing decision, feel free to leave a tip! I love helping others and sharing my knowledge and experiences. Much love!

If you'd like to purchase the Apple Watch Series 3 at a discount and save even more money, you can buy it here. I am not sponsored by Apple or Amazon.

tech news
Like

About the Creator

The White Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.