01 logo

App Review: stereo

A brilliant idea that still has a few kinks to work out. 4/5

By No IntroductionPublished 3 years ago โ€ข 4 min read
3

A brilliant idea that still has a few kinks to work out. 4/5

I've had the stereo app downloaded for about a week now, and though I didn't use it at first, I eventually logged on and started checking out some content available on it so far. Different ranging topics like Marvel V DC, toxic relationships, motivational discussions, and more are discussed live by the host and another stereo user that can either be setup for a specific time, or users can swap through people until they find a person click with.

The way it works is you create an avatar that will be displayed on the screen during the live chat. Once you've created that, you get thrown into different live chats going on with ranging topics. Aren't interested in listening and want to get right to it? Then just hit the Go LIVE button in the top right corner, and get paired with someone else who's ready to chat in a few seconds. If you want users to join in, simply ask their input, and they may record an audio message that will be played (either at random or when they allow the audio to play), and get a full on live podcast going.

I've only had 3 live discussions so far, and nothing that brought in any listeners. I was simply getting the hang of the app by figuring out what most people were talking about and the type of user base thus far. I've enjoyed listening and adding my own input into others' conversations more than my own so far, but this app is actually fun. I wouldn't be surprised if this app blew up within the next few months.

Now, I probably should have added this is not a paid app review. Simply my own opinion on my use so far. If you love talking and meeting new people and have been interested in maybe starting your own podcast, I'd say take a chance downloading this app and trying it out. You can start your own live chat with a specific topic, or join in on another and give your input when requested. The more you go live, the more listeners you'll get, which can turn into followers. It is an easy to use app. But it is not without its shortcomings.

I believe this app has been out since the end of September, so there's not a huge user base I've noticed, but several people who I've listened to say they've watched more and more listeners joining, which could mean getting started earlier would mean getting yourself in a position to get a head start with live chats and loyal listeners. But even though the app is simple enough to use and a bit of fun, there are still issues I've noticed. I was listening in on a chat about Marvel V DC, and the two chatting (it can only be two specific users going live at once) got cut off when the other user was disconnected and the person who stayed was paired with someone new, which changed the topic of the conversation.

Now, that isn't a huge problem, but it might lead to some in the future, if say, you have a user base that's following you for your specific discussions. They might be loyal enough to stay and listen for a while, but it could lead to some users turning elsewhere to try and get the same experience. I also had my own issue with the app attempting to take me to a live chat when I didn't even hit the live chat button. Minor technical issues here and there aren't that bad, and are reasonable after a new app is released, so it will take time for these to get fixed. It's my opinion relocating the 'Live' button from the top of the screen during chat would helpful so that someone who might be holding their phone away from their screen doesn't accidentally tap it and start a conversation without realizing it. But with all that said, there's still something worse than all these, and it's not even an issue with the app. It's an issue with the people... the trolls.

I noticed a few people have their conversation interrupted by someone who sent in an audio recording, that normally would be used to add to the conversation, but in these incidents were merely vulgar and nasty racial slurs being thrown at the two discussing the topic. With the type of app, it is it's not surprising that these types of people are already trying to let their presence be known on the app. Hopefully people who do this has the ability to be banned before they continue to waste the time of everyone by attempting to troll people who want to have real conversations.

In all, I would suggest downloading the app and giving it a try. I have had a ton of fun talking to the few people I have so far, and I can't wait to try and make this a weekly event for me. I've already considered starting my own podcast, but I think this idea works for me more than have to record a show, go through and edit, add music, put money, microphones and stand's to hold them. Especially with COVID numbers rising, it's awesome to still communicate and have fun while staying safe.

apps
3

About the Creator

No Introduction

Small content creator discussing abuse and mental health in my NoIntro Podcast. Love yourself and allow yourself to believe in change. You are loved, you are worthy, and you deserve this life you've been given.

โ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ–ค๐ŸคŽ๐Ÿค

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.