Writers logo

You do not need to know how to write to write your first story

Even a young child can write a story if there is a typewriter

By Olga MoyseyenkoPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023

I was about six years old. I could read well at that time but I could not write. My grandfather had a mechanical typewriter and I was allowed to use it. It was like a quest each time to find a needed letter on the keyboard! And one day I read a pictured book about large cats: lion, tiger, lynx, and others.

Well, I liked the book, I liked the cats, and I wrote a story about them. Unfortunately, I do not have this story under my eyes now, but it was about Panther and Lion and their family: each time Lion went hunting and then returned home he found a new child near his wife, and each time it was of different species: leopard, jaguar, lynx... I can imagine now how the story looked liked from the adult's point of view, but it had nothing like this in it. I just tried to imagine beautiful loving and large family (both in words of children amount and cats' size) and mention as many types of cats as I knew so far.

Since then I have had different writing experience. I wrote verses as many fifteen years old girls, I earned money as an observer of computer games in magazine, from time to time when I write long posts on Facebook I get reactions like "you can write well" from people who mainly do not know about my writing past. But I never thought that I would ever write in English (as it is not my first language). But I started to do it here: on Vocal. I started to do it just for myself: to get distraction by participating in challenges, and to see where my mind can bring me by writing on different topics. And to some of my friends really liked those writings.

Challenge

About the Creator

Olga Moyseyenko

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Jenna Tidd10 months ago

    Beautiful! Also reminds me of the old-fashioned typewriter my mother let me use as a child. It was so much fun to punch the keys, at the same time being careful not to miss and plunge my little finger down in between the metal arms.

  • Hifza Amjad10 months ago

    Great..🌷 thanks for sharing..

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous story!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is wonderful! I would like to see you rewrite that story now. Well done and congrats on the Top Story

  • Bri Craig10 months ago

    I think there is something quite beautiful about a child loving something and choosing to write about it!

  • Mattie :)10 months ago

    Very cool, Olga. I love how we're drawn to writing :)

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    I'm bookmarking this to revisit later - well done on your Top Story 😁

  • Hazel Rymell 10 months ago

    I think you should rewrite your first childhood story about the big cats as you can remember and publish it on here, that story sounds a fascinating read 📖 you wrote it back then, lost it, grew up. Time to write it again ❤️

  • CPA NM Duncan10 months ago

    Thanks for your encouragement. I have always wanted to write, but fear always prevailed.

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I'm always so impressed by being able to write in other languages, well done!

Olga MoyseyenkoWritten by Olga Moyseyenko

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.