Writers logo

Wormwood Letter

Christianity, if false, is of no importance, and if true, of infinite importance. The only thing it cannot be is moderately important. C. S. Lewis

By MacyPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Wormwood Letter
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Dear Screwtape,

It's been a short adventure of taking great care of my patient. With your advice uncle the Kingdom congratulates a new member to our Fathers House. It would mean great pleasure for you to come congratulate us as well for our greatest Enemy is saddened. I take into account that I haven't written back to you in a while from my last patient being a complete failure but, from your letters I have grown.

My new patient from when he was a boy was of our world. I took great pleasure in being patient and waiting on him. I recorded every word and stayed away from arguing in his ears. I knew the boy better than himself and took into account his weaknesses. As the boy grew, my influence on him grew and his family was a great delight. His father was an absolute failure in his position as a priest and fell into his pleasures. The church turned on him and kicked him out for this deed he was cheating on his wife with a minor. His affiliation was great fun and the wife couldn’t get away from her abusive husband. She tore herself up and to counter it she took on drugs. The boy had no one to turn to but fell into after his own father.

As the boy grew so did his philosophies of the world and shaped him. Any interest I’d drag him away by the simplest wants in food or sleep. Doubt in his own studies and taking account of his own understandings through his father since his mother was mentally gone. His mother later overdose and descend from it causing the darling thing to challenge his mentality. He grew up a fine chap in his own understanding of the world. Taken by the pursuit of his own father he was never able to retain a wife. He had three kids who all died at birth and God has punished him so well I laughed. The man has had many chances to turn to God but at every waking second he has rejected. For I made everything comfortable to him in the world but not too comfortable that he'd turn away.

His life was of meaningless waste in his devotions as a common man going to work and coming back unaccomplished. For he had no admiration to do better because he was sought after as a child that he could never do better. His favorite time that he does spend is on the sofa drinking beer and using the television as his way out in life. As I saw him on his deathbed I anguished that he died sooner but kept it within because it was my greatest joy to see him die slowly. For the man could only recount about how a life he had wasted and died in that repeated anguish. What a true joy it was for me to welcome my own disaster to our Fathers Kingdom.

Thank you Uncle Wormwood

By Biel Morro on Unsplash

I had written this for fun. Not to take C.S Lewis's work and if you haven't read his work please do you'll thank me later. I admire him and only wanted to write in the perspective if Wormwood had written back to his uncle Screwtape. I would love to see other people do what I did but put it in their perspective. If you do end up writing in the point of view as Wormwood or Screwtape I will gladly read it! I enjoy reading others work it helps me as a beginner where to start. Thank you to those who do actually end up reading my okay work.

ChallengeInspiration

About the Creator

Macy

I want to show my bad poetry that's all

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manikandan Blog Writer6 months ago

    good

MacyWritten by Macy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.