Writers logo

What's that Azure Light?

Bring it out into the open, and find its blue.

By Gary LougheedPublished 8 months ago 5 min read
1
Nightcafe Ai Artwork

What's that Azure Light?

Creativity, a etheramal puzzle, a delicate art where people are drawn to discovering each piece. A procedure follows that discovery and it usually takes a few moments to fly the puzzle piece in your hands to the perfect place. Hands crippled in quivering excitement, moments pressed to death as I dangled from a cliff, the lifeline was a scientifically tested rope, said to be able to hold two tons of metal. It felt like it could hardly hold two pounds.

creativity like a perfect swimming spot. This isn’t how creativity feels, it feels less technical than this, a more in-the-moment feeling, it drives itself, almost like we watch it happen. So what’s that azure light?

Guided moments of meditation, leeching pressure from the day, filling blood into the skull, and moving tremendous aches into new regions of pain. Escaping into competition, drilling the next workout repetition, or balancing on the pointed toe during ballet. An azure light of imagination guides those moments, and it’s gonna be my job to describe something impossibly different for everyone and yet relatable to me. Keeping inspiration.

So what’s that Azure Light? Is it something like the Northern Lights? Maybe it’s an island like Ireland or a city like New York. Something brilliant and relaxing, a type of brilliance that educates something, a something that brings itself subtle brilliance, some hidden sneaky moments from hard work, self-replenishment, an idea or activity that brings renewal.

What’s that azure light? Creativity is often a spring we aim to drink from. A project that expresses yourself, a place we go to define a piece of us. How about another time zone, we would be lying to ourselves if we called that time spent identical to every other moment that surrounded us. So what makes us thread our light through this needle? Well, maybe it is experience, the experience of imagination fueling the body, calming the mind, and protecting a piece of eternal light. Something so gorgeous and precious that it can be held in a child's hand or bitten by a small puppy. An idea that we have to make and without it… we wouldn't be lost, but others might be lost too. So what’s that azure light? It’s flickering in and out. But I’m gonna help it stay on.

Moments away from each keyboard press, bike pedals pass thousands of park flower petals. Rushing moments of peaceful adrenaline from Martial Arts. Techniques that blend into words, mathematical equations that fill entire virtual cities, imaginary lines that border the soul and connect reality. What single moment can I call a creative project? The breath I take should be that important and it is, so what’s that azure light? Is it the thread that passes through the needle, or is it how the strand of yarn reaches past my best friend's leg crossing her fur, or maybe it’s a great gulping drink chasing down something I love.

An orange coffee cup maybe? One crafted with vanilla, mixed by an outpouring of whole milk, topped off with cinnamon, something a great man once made. So is my creative project watching? Observing the fractal motion picture that is manifested in front of me? What is the azure light, but the moment of viewing others? Simple enough to make my wheelchair seem stable and my skin less fragile. It is the imagination that takes place during our moments. And without those connections, I am lost and so are we. Another azure light and I am sure I found the next place to sit.

Now the blue cushion that props my butt up during mediation with a feeling of gas giggling past. The relief at the gate of my journey. Another idea, a stillness that takes stress away. Golden, pink, and deep red emotions, the kind that has to be painted onto a heart-shape locket, it’s painting these things with words that brings me inner peace. But what’s that azure light? I guess my azure light is inner peace.

Labored rain on a pregnant belly, kissing each surface of a young boy or a young girl. What’s that azure light? Is it our newborn? Will they fill the place next to the campfire this year or will it be my Uncle farting again by the fireside this year? My love is chasing after me and I... chasing her around the couches, seeking the playful moment right before we both kiss. Times like that, that is what reminds me of an azure light. So what’s that azure light?

Moments in from infinity, moments that rob the voice out of my lips, the kind that cripple my typing fingers, moments of in-explain-ability, lines from a Holy Book that surface at the proper time. Diamonds that shimmer on a person's finger only after you hear the whole story. Or gold traces that flick golden glint to your eye, the part when you just missed her. What’s that azure light?

A feeling of romance procured in a special place, a place that hardly anyone should be able to touch, a place protected from work, but shared with your favorite buddy. Or how about seeing nothing, but opening your eyes for the first time or hearing a sound from the wind, a single moment visited by a memory, something not crafted at all, but frequently visited.

What’s that azure light? Memorizing fun facts about people after a hospital visit. Remembering to say hi politely, or calling a long lost friend, or giving someone a very kind good time. It’s like remembering a fun fact. Azure light, is singing along during a Mother’s birthday. You can't go to Heaven on roller skates, but if I listened close enough then I could hear the roller skates staying at the roller skating rink. Or a silly saying that squishes peeeaaaannutt butter… and then realizing the dreadful irony that remembering a silly song from your Mother’s childhood was just as deadly as remembering you are deadly allergic to the end of that very catchy tune.

Swimming in freezing lakes high in the sky, at altitudes not meant to be known. Seeing white snow next to a lake chilled by winter. Noticing the girls being braver than the boys.

Disconnecting from the world ha! And give yourself a well-deserved mindful making break! It’s like breaking the entire cake! Wrecking a moment for everyone and stealing it for ourselves. What a challenge pssht, strongly believing in the power of mindful-making practices… and leaving out the rest, sounds like a pest. Inner peace, what a beast. Well, all the things that keep me grounded… Mwahahaha, well prepare to see the darkest moments filled with the brightest hopes.

Now stop and linger, listen, a soft kind voice, a little voice from a much too small kid, a direction and instruction that bests your worst judgment, a truth that defeats your falseness quickly. A legendary peace that was cultivated long before their arrival. A truth that is often lost, but quickly found. It’s like music. A shift, no a drift…

So at the dawning of our imagination, I began to ask, what’s that azure light?

“ I can’t stop crying!! You’re the one that left me... “ That moment needed inner peace, what a beast…

“ You left me! I can’t stop crying! “ Another terrible moment of injustice, I had to fix the inner peace, not just me, but the slippery juice sliding down her face, just like the summer’s water park. I said one thing to her, “ What’s that azure light? “ I walked away and wondered if it helped. I hope it did.

ProcessInspirationChallenge
1

About the Creator

Gary Lougheed

If you enjoy my tales, please show your support by leaving a comment, clicking the heart, or even a tip! Thank you for reading more!

"While I thought that I was learning how to live, I have been learning how to die." - Leonardo da Vinci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.