Writers logo

What I Am Grateful for Today

Clothes, a material object, and my darkest moments with the support of loved ones.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 16 days ago 3 min read
What I Am Grateful for Today
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

What clothes bring you the greatest comfort? How do you thank them? Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

Clothes in general is what I would start with. I picture myself in some of the clothing my Native American ancestors wore, and I am grateful for the clothing in my closet today. This brings me comfort thinking about this.

Sometimes while working, my people would ask me if I was going to court because of how I dressed. For some it is a joke and for others that is the way they would dress for court. I am grateful that I will only have to dress like that if I go to court. It is comfortable but still not me.

My greatest comfort is nice-fitting jeans and T-shirts and a roomy sweatshirt. And I like wearing nightgowns that I put a sweatshirt over when I sit at my computer in the morning to write.

In working part-time, I continue to need some work clothes but not like I needed when working full-time. The clothes I wear for work now are comfortable. Like my everyday wear only with added jewelry and makeup.

It has been a while since I worked full time and I do need to replace some of my jeans especially. I have picked up some t-shirts and sweatshirts right along.

How do I thank them? I wash them regularly. I put them on hangers. I talk about how grateful I am for not having to wear ‘going to court’ clothing!

What material object are you grateful for and why? Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

Believe it or not, I would have to say technology. I would especially say my computer and smartphone. I am old enough to have used a typewriter. And before that wrote stories out in long hand. And I used shorthand.

Thankfully I can afford my computer and phone, so money is another material object. I have not suffered from not being able to feed myself. I can buy what I need. I have a washer and dryer that I am grateful for after spending a few hours at the laundry mat.

A person could truly go on and on. I am grateful for having a recliner in my living room, an office in my spare bedroom, and a kitchen with all the gadgets I want to use. Both a refrigerator and freezer. Electricity and heat. A home and ‘all the comforts of home’ as the saying goes.

In my darkest moments, I am grateful for my loved ones because _____. Rupi Kaur’s Gratitude Writing Prompts

My husband has been there with me from the beginning of my cancer fight. It is not over as I was told the cancer I have is treatable, probably not curable. Of course, after not having any positive cancer tests, since May of 2013, I want to believe it isn’t coming back.

Then I think back even further to my mother telling friends not to bring beer into the house when I was staying with her as I had quit drinking. She whispered, “Don’t bring that in here! Denise is trying to quit.”

Next, my two younger brothers came into a bar I was in. They saw my car parked there. They thought I was drinking, and I wasn’t. I was there to support another sober woman I sponsored who played in a band. She said she had some trouble at places she used to drink at.

When I asked what they would do if I were drinking, they said, “We would try to get you out of here.”

Then, a high school friend crying at a meeting I attended, pointed at me when she saw me and cried all the louder, “I knew you would be here!”

It took those three experiences to know that I had a problem. Without that, I didn’t think there was anything wrong with me. I knew my husband, at the time, was the one with the problem. That was in 1980 and it was those loved ones that I am most grateful for.

~~~~

First published by Mercury Press on medium.com

PromptsWriting ExerciseLife

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Mark Graham15 days ago

    Just keep doing what you are doing.

  • superb..

  • Yes I think money is the material object I'm grateful for because without it, we cannot have any other material object

  • Lana V Lynx16 days ago

    Great prompts and responses, Denise, that resulted into an impressive self-reflection story.

  • The writing prompts are good and it is good to see what positives there are in our lives . excellent article

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.