Writers logo

Well that was a piece of crap.

A Thank You.

By Hannah MoorePublished 18 days ago 4 min read
16
Well that was a piece of crap.
Photo by Juan Encalada on Unsplash

Recently, I wrote a bad story. No, stop, there is no denying it, this piece was not up to snuff. And between you, me, and anyone who cares to look, it is not an isolated occurrence, either. Some of my worst stories are mercifully long. I say mercifully, because engagement with longer stories is always lower, thus saving possibly up to one or two collective man hours which might otherwise have been squandered on, just off the top of my head, a vague and clunky reimagining of Rip Van Winkle.

For most of us, I imagine, our various pieces of work sit on a self-perceived continuum from “absolute shite” to “well that is not actually too bad, is it”. I have a few pieces I am really quite pleased with, though I dare not re-read them for fear of bursting that bubble, a few I concede are dire, and a whole heap which are fall in the “hmmm” zone, a category which can itself be subdivided into “it’s got something, but…”, “it’s fine, I guess” and “it’s not without merit”. The piece in question is an “it’s got something, but….” for information.

I published this particular piece after a conversation with a fellow creator in which I had to confess that I had abandoned a piece of writing as a bad job and left it flailing in a state of incompetence. This dirty little secret revealed, I felt that I could not look myself in the eye if I didn’t go back and either help the thing to its feet or conclusively put it out of its misery. I chose the former, committing it to limp off to cross the publication line with one knee bent backwards and missing three toes on the other foot, but I would like to think it did so whilst smiling, if we are personifying our pen-babies.

Now, the issue with this piece was that I wanted to invoke the confusion and unreliability of the protagonist, whilst still maintaining a coherent narrative, in 366 words, and I was aware, in part due to the unflinchingly unfiltered feedback from my partner, that the telling had favoured confusion over coherence. I made a few changes which I thought moved it at least in the direction of coherence, and I put it out there, in hope that balance had been struck!

It had not. Or not fully at any rate.

The comments began to arrive. Though not unanimously so, most of them found a relatively courteous way to say “er, what?” (They were unanimously courteous, understand, just not unanimously confused.)

And here is where I come to my point. I wrote a bad story. Not completely bad, but not really good enough. It didn’t quite work. And people told me. PEOPLE TOLD ME! Right there to my, well, not face, but internet mediated presence at least. And I just kind of wanted to celebrate that with you all. I missed, and you told me! And I have never felt more safe on this platform than I did watching the bafflement roll in. It’s not just that people were nice about it, which they were, it’s that people were generous, courageous, and supportive enough to voice it.

I have always felt constructive criticism to be immensely valuable in our quest to improve at anything, but it got me thinking about the power of suboptimal feedback in other ways too. Let’s come back to my partner, bless his currently COVID covered cotton socks. My partner is a man for whom a hint is as useful as the human appendix. He is generous, and conscientious, and caring, but he is not subtle beast. We are well matched in this, I suspect. A year or so ago he started painting with water colours, and a few weeks ago presented for my feedback a picture that was both bland and poorly executed. Which I of course told him. “Yes,” he agreed. “I thought it might be.”

Generally, we know when we have fallen a bit too wide of the mark. Generally. Would it be helpful then, for everyone to say “Oh GOOD JOB”, and pat us on the head? Yes and no (and it’s always yes and no for me). I am not here to tell toddlers their walking is crap. When my kids took their first teetering steps I was the first to applaud, despite their obvious incompetence. We all need encouragement, we all need to feel we are working with something worth investing our energy in, and we offer that to one another here. Space to try things and not be shot down for our efforts. I am so grateful for that. But do we praise that same child for leaving their laundry in a heap by the laundry bin ten years later? Do we think “close enough” and let it go? Well, sometimes we do, there is only so much nagging a person can muster in a day isn’t there? But at our best, we point accusingly at the offending heap of stinky socks and say “Darling, I have faith in your ability to do better.”

So I am also grateful for being told “Hannah, I think you’ve made a woopsie.” So much so, that this is really a very protracted way of saying thank you for that. Thank you for demonstrating the mutual trust and respect needed to do that and thank you for lending validity to the times you HAVE said “good job”. Thank you, in summary, for being a truly great community. I just wanted to take a moment to acknowledge that.

Community
16

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout 19 hours ago

    Just curious, why 366 words? Because it's a leap year? I feel like I keep seeing this number across the site like it's an inside joke, lol

  • Thavien Yliaster12 days ago

    Wait, so Your "Hansel and Gretel find a snack" is the story You're referencing here that You commented to me about on my "La Cupidité Aveugle, Mais La Prospérité Grimpe?" Why would You think it's not decent?

  • Shirley Belk17 days ago

    Hannah, I love your honesty and humor. I don't remember any particular story of yours to be bad. I do understand how stories and poems of mine have fallen flat. I think we all our "pieces."

  • I'm so sorry Hannah, I'm one of those people who was confused with that story. For what it's worth, I'm slow most of the times and I don't understand a lot of things that I read on Vocal and often would need the author to explain it to me. What I'm trying to say is, just because I don't understand it, doesn't mean it's crap. I definitely don't think that way. I just feel you wrote something too intelligent for me to understand.

  • Caroline Craven17 days ago

    Ha! Great title. To be fair, I think we’ve all written stuff that isn’t what we hoped it would be. There’s one particular story that I wrote which literally makes me feel quite sick. I think it was a good idea but it was poorly executed and badly written. I keep it there as a reminder to myself that you can have good and bad days. I thoroughly enjoy reading your work.

  • John Cox17 days ago

    This is the funniest thing I have ever read on Vocal. I will almost certainly return and read this again. It’s a pity we can’t leave multiple likes for a story, because this one deserves far more than the one feeble like I’m allowed to give it. In all fairness, there’s plenty of crap stories on Vocal, and sadly some of them are mine. And maybe you have written a few stories that will not stand the test of time as great literature, but I have yet to read anything by you that would cause to cast an accusatory eye and call it crap. But if you do decide in the future the need to apologize to your audience on Vocal, I will look forward to it just the same.

  • JBaz17 days ago

    Oh crap be thy name and we write it often. Those wasrteeful words are needed I believe to repell the invading ideas that will never work on a good piece, so we write one we know is... meh! I do have to say even so there is still something about your stories that make me enjoy something in there. Because you have more good ones than bad. Cheers

  • D.K. Shepard17 days ago

    This was an engaging read! Didn’t read the story you discussed just because I decided not to read the fairytale challenge ones after the first few ended up being triggering though I’m sure I missed out on some good pieces, though I guess based on this piece that yours wasn’t one of them…but glad the criticism ended up being an encouragement!

  • L.C. Schäfer18 days ago

    I have published crap and had smoke blown up my bum about it. It takes a deeper level of engagement to critique.

  • Rachel Deeming18 days ago

    So, I don't think I've read it. I'm definitely going to now! I'm glad that you had good experience with feedback. This place is a good place to experiment, I think.

  • Lamar Wiggins18 days ago

    I enjoyed the bits of humor you used to explain this. It was definitely coherent and gave me a smile. Now, I'm wondering if I ever read the story in question. The only clue I have is the 366 words. Sounds like a challenge entry for L.C. Schafer. I also appreciate when I get the feedback that helps me understand what the reader didn't. At this point, I'm over the embarrassment of knowing I made mistakes/ could have been better. You've actually made a comment on a story of mine that made me revisit the point I was making (trying to make). Thank you for that. Keep the feedback coming everyone. It's one way we can continue getting better.

  • Christy Munson18 days ago

    Love this thoughtful, insightful, heartfelt piece so much. Although the entire thing is lovely, you had me literally spitting out my beverage at “ My partner is a man for whom a hint is as useful as the human appendix.” Hilarious! I couldn’t agree more. It means so much to have Vocal as a safe space and a trusted place for real feedback. Thank you for this piece! 🙌⭐️🙌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.