Writers logo

This Week's Posts

A Roundup of This Week's Published Stories 3/4–3/10

By Elise L. BlakePublished 4 months ago 4 min read
This Week's Posts
Photo by Christian Lue on Unsplash

It's been another week of writing for me and I hope for you as well! 

In case you missed any of my articles this week here is a roundup of everything we've discussed this past week. From implementing good writing habits to a step-by-step guide to finishing your novel there is something for everyone no matter the stage in their writing journey. 

Happy reading! 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo 

____________________________________________________

Whatever You Want To Call It - You Need This If You're Going To Write A Novel

Get Ready To Plot Your Success

There's one thing when it comes to writing that somehow manages to start wars between factions of writers and sends others scrambling back from their computers, or clicking out of this article faster than it takes them to blink.

Well, there are two - the first being called out for not writing.

The second is a thing known by many names, but in the end, it's all the same.

Are those hairs on your arms standing up yet? Are you ready to see the word that you are most dreading?

Whether you call it a blueprint, guide, roadmap, skeleton, framework, plan, summary, storyboard, sketch, or most simply known as an outline, it's all the same.

And yes, you need one. But before you run away thinking that I'm about to have to write down every single detail of your story from the first page to the last - stick around, because you couldn't be more wrong.

____________________________________________________

Good Habits All Writers Share

And No - They Don't Mind If You Borrow Them

Writers have a lot of things in common and the same can be said for some of the habits they share.

Now not all of these habits are good habits, such as our levels of procrastination, or how most of us haven't had anything to drink besides caffeinated drinks for longer than we might like to admit.

As for the good habits, they're available to everyone so if there are habits that aren't already on your lists, pop on down to the store below and pick up a few for yourself.

Free of charge.

____________________________________________________

This Is How You're Going To Finish Your Novel

From Step One till The End! Let's Cross The Finish Line Together!

Do you keep thinking about that novel that you want to write, but you haven't been able to sit down and make a plan about how you're going to write it?

Well, you're in luck, that's exactly what you're about to do now.

Let's break writing your novel down into seven easy-to-accomplish steps.

This Is How You're Going To Finish Your Novel

____________________________________________________

6 Things About Writing I Wish I Could Go Back In Time And Tell Myself

Maybe I can tell you before it's too late

We all wish for a time machine for one reason or another.

Sometimes it's to go back and play the numbers for a big lottery jackpot. To see a loved one more time, or to go and tell our past selves not to go on that date because we're going to get our hearts broken.

Sure I'd love to go back and do all of these things, but I'd also like to go back and teach myself a few lessons about writing that I learned the hard way.

So what would I tell myself?

____________________________________________________

The Greatest Lie Ever Told: You Can't Make Money As A Writer

I don't know who started this lie, but they need a reality check

When I first tell people that I am a full-time writer, I get to witness a whole fruit basket of emotions and questions play out.

Some people are excited and ask if they've ever read anything I've written while others clutch their pearls and look at me in horror.

Others have enough crass manners to ask, but what do you do for money?

I write - kinda goes with the phrase full-time writer. I write - for a full-time income,

____________________________________________________

3 Lessons On Writing I Wish I Knew Sooner

That you're learning right on time

There are always things when it comes to writing that I wish I knew yesterday instead of learning too late.

But since I don't have a time machine, here are the three lessons I wish someone had thought to put down on paper for me instead of waiting until I learned them the hard way.

____________________________________________________

5 Things You Need To Sacrifice If You Want to Be A Better Writer

Let's get serious about writing

Becoming a better writer takes dedication, perseverance, and a willingness to make a sacrifice here and there along the way.

Those who are willing to make the necessary sacrifices will see rewards beyond those who aren't.

But keep in mind that many of these sacrifices are doubled-edged swords, while they may help you become a better writer, they are called sacrifices for a reason.

In the end, something has to give.

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

VocalCommunity

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Caesar Benson4 months ago

    Easy way to give them all a read. Thanks!

  • Mark Graham4 months ago

    Quite the way to review a week of writing. Good work.

  • Isabella Andrus4 months ago

    Thanks for putting them all in one place !

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.