Writers logo

The Greatest Lie Ever Told: You Can't Make Money As A Writer

I don't know who started this lie, but they need a reality check

By Elise L. BlakePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
7
The Greatest Lie Ever Told: You Can't Make Money As A Writer
Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

When I first tell people that I am a full-time writer, I get to witness a whole fruit basket of emotions and questions play out. 

Some people are excited and ask if they've ever read anything I've written while others clutch their pearls and look at me in horror. 

Others have enough crass manners to ask, but what do you do for money?

I write - kinda goes with the phrase full-time writer. I write - for a full-time income. 

Now it's not the best income in the world, but since I can still afford to go to Starbucks at least once a week and spoil my two nieces with anything they could want I wouldn't say I'm doing all that bad. 

Sure I don't have a house - but my sister and her fiance both work 50 hrs a week with well-paying jobs and they can't afford one either so I don't feel all that bad about where I am. 

The myth that you can't make money as a writer is a scare tactic to stop aspiring authors or writers from putting too much effort into something most would consider a hobby becuase why should you get to live your dream when they couldn't live theirs? 

This is exactly what I told my aunt when she told me she had tried to be an author, but she didn't make any money doing it so she quit and I should do the same. 

Did you ever think that maybe you just weren't that good of a writer Cheryl? 

Making money as a writer is a little less straightforward than more people realize. 

I don't know a single writer who only makes their money from writing and while that's a sad fact, it just means that writers have to be a bit more creative in how they spend their time other than creative pursuits. 

While I make my money from writing, a good part of that is writing advice to help other writers, or making videos about writing, While it still has to do with writing, it allows me to diversify my income as I work on books that will only add to that income. 

The most important thing to know about making money as a writer is that it's not something that happens overnight. It takes time to build an audience and develop the consistency needed to start building an income from writing. 

While you're working on your books make sure you are reaching out to other forms of income such as social media, blogs, or even vlogs. 

I do all of the above and it makes the difference between instant coffee from powder or an overpriced large cup of chocolate and sugar that doesn't at all resemble coffee, but it makes my little heart happy. 

Now go out and start building your income empire. 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

ProcessLifeInterviewsGuidesCommunityAdvice
7

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kay Husnick2 months ago

    "Did you ever think that maybe you just weren't that good of a writer Cheryl?" is just too funny. I think that so often when people complain about their lack of success with writing.

  • Caesar Benson2 months ago

    There are plenty who make money from writing and plenty who make money by doing writing-related things. Thank you for giving those of us who aren't making quite enough yet hope that we one day will

  • Isabella Andrus2 months ago

    Love this!

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Thank you. I am trying to find online text to text transcription work to supplement by writing work.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Thank you for this. And you might appreciate this quote: "I've had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened." - Mark Twain

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.