Writers logo

This is My Prompt Unto You!

It's not a Challenge though!

By ChloePublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
This is My Prompt Unto You!
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

Don't get me wrong, I would love to host a Challenge. But... actually, I wouldn't. Seeing as all the hate groups are spreading and that my opinion isn't exactly as pristine as a judge's, I'm not hosting a Challenge. Maybe later in life, but definitely not know. I'm only one ninth grader, and I alone am incapable of scouring entires for a perfect grand-prize winner.

Oh, and as a ninth-grader, I also don't have any significant grand-prize for you.

But wait! Don't back out now! Maybe you'll like my prompt!

I just thought of this prompt yesterday, and the reason it came up is because I want to know how much information I'm giving my audience about my characters. Is it enough that you understand who they are and what they do? Or is it not enough, that way I can improve my writing and add more?

I'm also doing this just because I want to give y'all a prompt. I severely doubt anyone will take this up, but I'm putting it out there anyway. It should be easy enough to follow.

"Write an excerpt about the Shadow Brothers."

Don't freak out if you don't know who these guys are. I'll be providing a list of links at the end that go to my many stories on them. If you find yourself interested in the plot, dive right in! If not, this is just a prompt. It won't hurt my feelings if you decide to back out.

There are some rules, however, as I have to keep this clean and tidy if I'm going to be doing a bunch of reading.

1. NO AI GENERATED CONTENT. PERIOD. (Unless it's a cover image.) I know most people wouldn't try that, but some people would! I don't trust everyone the same!

2. No swearing. My parents don't want me reading curse words, and frankly, I don't either. If this is too much of an ask, then just tone it down a little! Hold your horses! I don't want any effin' eff about effin' everything's effed! Keep it clean, or relatively.

3. Keep it under 4000 words. Honestly, I'm completely open to reading a 3000 word story about my own characters, because that helps me know what my audience does and doesn't know, and it helps me relay more or less information depending on how much you know. Anything under 4000 words will work, because I don't have all day. I'm a high-schooler, y'know. I got important crap to do.

4. Keep it relatively family-friendly, please. Nothing explicit. These are Shadows, not people, and they do not act the same as people.

4. Either version of the Shadow Brothers is allowed. This will be explained a lot better in the links below, but there are two versions of the Shadow Brothers on my Vocal profile available to you: kid and adult. The kid versions are much, much smaller, have a plotline of their own, and are basically tiny adults who are very energetic. The adult versions are like Batman (dark, scary, dangerous, threatening, all that jazz).

Too easy? Well, let's find out!

If you have any entries- I mean, stories, because this isn't a Challenge and I'm not going to "grade" your work, just paste the link in the comments. Remember, this is only if you want to! You can work the prompt however you want to your favor!

Here are the list of links. You don't have to read them all, by the way! I'll talk to you in the comments if you have any strangling questions.

Complain, Complain, Complain! (Adult Shadows)

Don't You See? (Kid Shadows)

To Kill (Kid Shadows)

They are Not Children. (Kid Shadows)

'Mates'? (Adult Shadows)

There Are Winners and Losers (Adult Shadows)

Don't Stop Me Now (Kid Shadows)

Holidae (Adult Shadows)

The Shadows of Christmas [feat. Crimson, Mauve, and Ivory, triplets] (Adult Shadows)

The Final Day (Adult Shadows)

A Place Where the Sun Shines (Adult Shadows)

A Day in the Future (Adult Shadows)

The Shadows' Day (Adult Shadows)

Yes, I know. It's a long list of links. It took me long enough to make it.

Knock yourselves out, my oil-painting audience! Have fun! Work with whatever comes to mind! I'll be over here watching from outer space with my astronaut helmet. See you on the other side!

Ciao.

Oh, wait! I forgot to show you what the Shadow Brothers look like! (Courtesy of an old friend.)

Prompts

About the Creator

Chloe

she’s back.

a prodigious writer at 14, she has just completed a 100,000+ word book and is looking for publishers.

super opinionated.

writes free-verse about annoying people.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Such a cool challenge! Sorry I meant prompt!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Challenge, I mean prompt accepted! I'll somehow make this and the other project I talked to you about into One. I'll be diving in for research throughout this week. Have fun in outer space.

ChloeWritten by Chloe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.