Writers logo

The Uneven Sisters

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Uneven Sisters
Photo by sobhan joodi on Unsplash

I always got to work. I always got to clean. Belinda doesn't have to do anything. And she always getting into trouble. But that is my duty as the housekeeper. My family could barely afford to live. My family grew up poor. They couldn't afford much food and they could not afford much clothes. Momma said that we nearly starve just to make it. This is what encourage me to work for the Lenfords. The Lenfords are good folks that never done anything wrong. They care about their workers. They care about the people that protect their home and keep it safe. My name is Flower. Momma gave me a simple name to remind her of what father would do for her on Valentine's Day. Dad would give flowers to Momma. Mr. Lenfords always gave me an extra tip whenever I would work for them. The reason Momma passed her job down to me so the family can live within their means. I loved working because I would just make sure Belinda was taken care of. She was young and wild and free. I would read to her and make sure she was well taken of.

It happened that Belinda discovered some family mystery. She was arguing with Mr. Lenfords about something. And he strictly told her to keep it a secret. Belinda gave me a nasty look. I just avoided her and cleaned the rest of the house. This happened very often as Belinda was maturing. She would have fits of rage and not necessary like being around. As I gave Mr. Lensfords and Mrs. Lensfords their breakfast for the morning. They asked if Belinda said anything to me about her new discovery. I told them no. And this went on for weeks and months. I really wasn't concerned because my job was necessary for the family. I did not want to bring the family into poverty.

Then when it was Belinda's birthday, she came to my studies and offer a piece of cake. She said To my sister. Then she walked right out of the room. And she slammed her door. I frankly was disturbed and told Mr. Lensfords and Mrs. Lensfords that I would like the day off and will be back in the morning. Mr. Lensfords and Mrs. Lensfords asked what she said. I told them she called me her sister. And Mr. Lensfords and Mrs. Lensfords begged for me to stay and to not tell anyone. I was greatly disturbed and I told them that I would think about it. I need room to breathe. And so Flower called her father at a phone booth saying Dad this is Flower. Am I really your daughter. And he said why would you say that? I said because the Lensfords' daughter Belinda said I am her sister. He said Oh honey I did not want you to find out this way. Your mother was pregnant when I got with her. God rested her soul. She promised me to never tell you. I said So Father all this time all these memories all these... everything is a lie. My life is a lie. And he tries to calm her down. He tries to explain and Flower hangs up the Phone in the booth. And Flower asked Mr. Lensfords are you my father Mr. Lensfords? And Mrs. Lensfords walks away and finds Belinda. And Flower threatens to break everything. And she starts. Flower strugglingly says I thought my mother was your sister. I thought my family was your family. What is it? Mr. Lensfords falls to his knees and says I am. I did my half sister. And Flower screamed and ran to the kitchen. Belinda comes with her mother saying I am no longer Mrs. Lensfords. And your daughter and I are leaving you. And he said Do you smell that? It smell like fire. Mrs. Lensfords shocked and Belinda runs with her father. They try to put the fire out .Flower said I would rather die than be the child of incest, to be a child of a rapist. Mr. Lensfords and Belinda try to get the fire under control and Mrs. Lensfords call the Cops and Fire Department. Flower passes out and Mr. Lensfords does CPR. Mr. Lensfords tell the Fire Department and Cops that an accident happen. And the ambulance take Flower away and Belinda is the only one that goes with her leaving her father and mother behind. Flower wakes up in the ambulance and says You, why are you here. Belinda said You were the closest thing to my mother. Sister I still care for you. And we can amend whatever went wrong. Flower cried Mr. Lensfords, father or whatever did his half sister my mother. how do you think I feel? How do you think I feel? Belinda cries I am here. It may seem much but I am here for you like you were there for me. And it will get better.

Challenge
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.