Writers logo

The Secret To Becoming A Writer IS Easier Than You Think

You Just Need To Do This One Thing

By Elise L. BlakePublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
The Secret To Becoming A Writer IS Easier Than You Think
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

I've always wanted to learn how to run a marathon. 

Sure I know the steps, one foot in front of the other until I reach the finish line, but just like with writing where in its simplicity we are putting one word in front of the other until we reach the end of the story, there's a bit more to it than this. 

Becoming a writer is a dream that many share. They want to see their words in print, maybe even their name in lights, or at least their book sitting on the bedside table of readers all over the world. 

And while the dream of writing a novel is just that for many, making this dream a reality isn't as hard as many have made it out to be. 

But there's a catch - just like my dream of running a marathon - I'm not going to be able to just strap into a pair of sneakers no matter how nice they are and take off running for miles on end and wind up being the first one across the finish line with the big metal around my neck.

First - I'm going to have to practice. 

The Secret To Making Writing Easier 

Just like how I'm going to have to get off my butt and go for runs a few times a week if I plan on being able to increase the distance and pace of my run, writers who want to become better at writing have to get onto their butts and practice getting their stories from beginning to end. 

With practice comes familiarity and the ability to turn writing from that thing you do every once in a while into a habit that will come like second nature. 

The first time I laced up my sneakers and took off at a run I almost collapsed halfway down my street, but the tenth time I ran I was able to make it to the coffee shop a few blocks away from my house and reward myself with a large coffee - and possibly a doughnut for the walk back.

When you first start writing your story might just be a series of events that goes from point A to point B and that's ok, pacing and character development, and all the other things that go into a novel will come to you easier the more you practice, review, and repeat. 

Each time you come to the page and put in the work you are going to improve. 

That's all there is to being a writer. You write, you edit, you receive feedback, and then you do it all over again until you're happy with the outcome. 

The most important step here is repeating and practicing. If I had given up on that very first run, or even the first time I came in last for a race I never would have won my first. 

I may be a long - looooong - way off from running a marathon, but I'm a lot closer than I ever would have gotten if I had never started to practice. 

Now go get to writing. 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:00 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

ProcessInspirationGuidesCommunityAdvice
2

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    As the saying goes "Practice, practice, practice."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.