Writers logo

The Legend of the Strongest Man

A Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like
The Legend of the Strongest Man
Photo by Boston Public Library on Unsplash

I once was strong. I used to lift many barrens of water. I was the pride of my people. I could ride with the best of them. I could swim with the fastest of them. When I was young I lifted 4,000 pounds with my strong back and my strong legs. My people were a strong people. We were a smart people. We were a united people. We've been on the land for thousands of years and we thrived ever hundred years. We built this land. We reshaped this land. We grew with the wind. And we grew with the sun. And we grew with the trees. And we grew with the flowers. And our cattle ate from the grass. We were the original people. We were the original destiny of the land. And it so happened that other tribes started to face a drought and their land was not good in shape. And they kept requesting assistance food and water from us. My father was the Chief. He was a proud man. He was a great man. He was mighty warrior. And he understood the need of the other tribes but he could not jeopardize the need of his tribe. He would reason and provide as much supply as possible to these tribes. And most of the tribes were thankful except one who was led by a Shamma.

This Shamma, he was a witch doctor and he tried to gather the other tribes against father. He would promised bigger potion and our land. He would start these conflicts continually for years. She would even confront father while he is reasoning with the other tribes. And this would go on this rampage for years, as father aged he became weaker to the demands of the other tribes. I knew it was old age but I suspect the Shamma was after his power. Father gain great power by helping the other tribes he was like a Chief of Chiefs. He was highly admired and highly respected. And somehow Father did not wake up, he fell into a deep sleep and died within hours.

After days and days of mourning, I was chosen to take his place. The Shamma was already declaring war and saying that we will not serve under another Chief. We don't have to pay back what we owe. And that we are freed of this tribe and their burden. My tribe was shaken because of the mourning. And I gathered the warriors like father would have. And commanded them to stay at their position. I declared to the tribes that if they give me their allegiance then I would ensure them for the future. I would protect them just like my father. I would do everything in my power to prove that I am worthy to be Chief. And Shamma spoke for the other tribes, If only you pass this test, drink this blood and find new land and bring us back proof that the land is prosperous on your own. And the warriors try to forbade me from going but I was not afraid. I was not worried. I was brave. Father created a brave son. I could lift the water myself and the supplies. My horse is the strongest and I trained her myself. So I left my brother in charge and I charged the other tribes that if they cause war then my tribe will slaughter without mercy. I was strong just like father.

As I travelled. There was nothing but drought. The land was not well watered. The land was dying. And no matter how far I traveled the land kept getting worse. And my supplies started to run out. I had dreams of Shamma causing trouble. Shamma was using witchcraft to stop me on my journey. One dream was where I was literally fighting something in my tepee and this went on for days. I broke the challenge and left immediately not alone but with an idea and carrying giant buckets of water to the tribe. And I drunk some because the journey was long and I was thirsty. And I gave some to my horse. Finally reaching the borders. And I was right Shamma was causing war. I found my brother fighting with the other tribes. He threw me an axe and I chopped off ten heads while my brother shot his arrows to protect me. The other warriors were fighting alongside us. And my brother after fighting most of the day, he declared the war mostly over but I wanted the head of Shamma and the other tribes' chief. They were all under the spell of Shamma when I torn through the tepee carefully behind Shamma. And I chopped her into pieces then my brother and the other warriors took the other chiefs and made them leave the land and work in their land replanting and watering their land. They were not keeping true to the land. They were letting it die. And they and their people will receive supplies as long as they work the land.

Life
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.