Writers logo

The 'H' is for Hyper

My truth about ADHD and writing

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
The 'H' is for Hyper
Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I have never been ashamed of my ADHD.

But I have been thoroughly frustrated by it.

***

I was diagnosed at four years old. Then, ADHD, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, was a term used for those who had a hard time focusing or staying still for long periods of time. Though, that may be true, that is not all there is to ADHD.

But I'm getting off track. This is not an article talking about ADHD for everyone. This is about what it is for me. Or more specifically my writing.

Let me make sure you understand this point. ADHD is not exactly the same in every person. We are individuals with our different personalities. So what is true for me doesn't mean it is true for everyone.

ADHD is my secret weapon and my Kryptonite. For me my brain goes at a much faster pace, allowing me to, for example, come up with story and article ideas quickly. But the same benefit hurts me, making it difficult to stick to one idea at a time.

So how do I deal with this and other struggles?

1. The multiple ideas. As I said before, the multiple ideas are great until you can't focus on one. So I lean into it. What I mean is I don't try to focus on just one the whole writing session. When I get stuck on one idea, be it writer's block or becoming disinterested, I don't force myself to stay. Instead, I go to another project and plan/write some. This gives a chance for my subconscious to think and work out the story, so when I come back to it, it flows out much easier.

2. An inability to...squirrel!...focus. I wish I could say my focus is not this bad, but some days it is. When I am having one of those days, I give myself five or ten minutes of solid writing. When the time is up, I take a break or if I am eager to keep writing, I keep going. That way, I don't become frustrated with myself when I am constantly distracted. Frustration only makes my lack of focusing worse.

3. A lack of motivation. If you have spent anytime researching ADD or ADHD, you might know that depression can go hand in hand with both, further complicating things. To be honest, this was something I had to teach myself--authors don't have to write everyday to be considered authors. The days I don't feel like writing, I don't push it. Most of the time, I read or watch television, though I've been known to exercise. Sometimes they help me be motivated to write, sometimes it doesn't.

4. When to edit. Many fellow writers have recommended waiting until you finished writing your first draft. I still struggle with the waiting part, but have gotten to the point that editing waits until the end of a paragraph. (Sometimes.) The lesson here: sometimes I am not going to be great at certain aspects of writing and that's okay. Don't push for perfection, push for great.

5. The quiet is not my friend. Go ahead, you can laugh or make your jokes. I can't stand the quiet, actually, it makes me a little crazy sometimes. To fill the silence, I play music or something I have watched so many times, I can tell you everything that happens. Of course, I wouldn't recommend this to everyone because what works for me may not work for others.

This is only five of many, many things that affects my writing. To those of the neurodivergent community, I hope this at least helps you know you are not alone in your struggles, maybe even give you a couple of tips.

But here's the biggest thing, don't let it stop you from doing what you love.

ChallengeAdvice
1

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms. Alexandria ~ Miss you ~ I've always had mild OCD; I tidy up after my housekeeper, but never heard the term "neurodivergent" - I so like your Chutzpah! *I'm on the 'Lookout' looking forward to your 'Flash Fiction' Wrote a family story 'Poker' it may give you a Giggle? J-Bud Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.