Writers logo

The Dog Ate My Underpants

#200; The sequel?

By Hannah MoorePublished 4 months ago 6 min read
17

I have had a little adventure. “Tell it to social media!” I hear you cry. Please rest assured I have. But I felt compelled to tell it here also, due to the timing. Timing, you see, is everything.

A week ago, I wrote my missive in response to the gauntlet Vocal laid down, the challenge to confront our own challenges. In response to this invitation to reflect, and from the springboard of reflection, to carve a trajectory of my choosing, I attempted to openly discuss some of my own challenges, as a writer, as a community member, and as a person - the context, of course, which encompasses all aspects of my Vocal presence.

I titled that piece “Reply All”, a deliberate choice, when so many of my titles are afterthoughts. I wanted to address the whole vocal community. The cool kids, the outsiders, the newcomers, the student council and the faculty. Obviously I did not imagine that several thousand people would be reading, but perhaps there WAS a representative from every subdivision in my mind’s eye, to each of whom I would be equally accountable as I reflected on how WE function as a community, and laid out my intentions for the coming year. In that piece, allowing my mind to swirl and eddy as it will, just as long as I kept flowing in the intended direction, I likened Vocal to my underpants. Firstly, my apologies. While a likening to an alluring pair of silken bloomers in an audacious print may be considered rather complimentary, this was not the analogy I made. But before any offense is taken, please consider which knickers you reach for most often. Comfortable nether regions, in whatever configuration yours happen to be, are fundamental to our freedom of expression! When one’s entry and exit points are impeded, creativity must surely be stifled, no?

As it transpired, however, this analogy proved to be partially prescient. I spoke also, you see, of my intention to rebalance my vocal use. To read a little less (I know, it’s not a winning proposition is it), but to read beyond the echo chamber. To allow myself more time for my own writing, even if that means writing less as I put the pen down and listen, for the first time, to someone purporting to have some expertise. To more willingly shrug off the call of this space to answer calls that are more important.

And then I disappeared.

I vanished from your comments sections, because I read nothing. I vanished from MY comment sections, because I saw nothing. I vanished from the feed, because I wrote nothing. You worried, I’m sure. I did not vanish from your mind, did I?

People, call off the search parties, I have been found. Ok, it was only four days. But I feel certain at least SOMEONE might have noticed. A bit certain. I feel it’s possible at least. Well, this is for you, if you are that person. You see, the dog ate my underpants.

It’s my birthday this Wednesday. Every year, I say (out loud, not just in my head) “This year, I want to DO something for my birthday.” Sometimes, I even say it when my family are present and looking in my direction. Yet every year, the children whine, or the flu takes hold, or the pressures of life send cover fire to allow the day to manoeuvre to the front page of the calendar and dance, naked of all adornment, in my face. This year, I took the bull by the horns (you may choose here to continue the preceding analogy, but I’m keeping it clean) and tied my own bow on. I booked a weekend break, and compelled the family to go.

It was lovely, but this was not the whole adventure. Never the less, it is part one of “reasons Hannah Moore vanished from Vocal”. I honoured my pledge. I spent time with my family, doing things that I love and ignoring every notification that pinged onto my phone whenever I was in range of Wi-Fi. Two days. No one will even notice. But then things went a little awry. It got a tad windy in the UK, where I was not. On Sunday evening, in part two of “reasons Hannah Moore vanished from Vocal”, and because the nameless budget airline I was using cares profoundly for its passengers and crew, I enjoyed one of the more stimulating flights I have been on. I am not, generally, a fearful flyer (claustrophobia notwithstanding), but I’m just going to confess I was crapping myself as the aircraft attempted a UK landing in some of the highest winds we have seen in a decade. Needless to say, the landing was aborted after a simultaneously tantalising and terrifying dalliance with the runway, and the flight redirected almost back where we had come from. I then spent 24 hours on an unexpected mini-break to Cologne airport. They have a surprisingly well stocked supermarket IN the terminal you know. You can get pasta sauce, alcohol, AND pet collars. And I took a photograph of the children next to a section of the Berlin wall. In it, the children look a little peaky, but it didn’t seem inappropriate, give the subject. They are, however, somewhat short on opportunities to charge devices or places to get cooked food.

Finally, part three. I lost a day, and I lost a night. Its not much, is it, one day’s work, one night’s sleep. But the loss has been detrimental to my workload and my coping capacity simultaneously.

This is where the timing comes in. “Ladies and gentlemen!” I proclaimed. “I am reappraising my relationship with you, and I intend on prioritising myself more from now on!” And then I walked out, turned my phone off and left no forwarding address, and even if I had only intended to nip to the loo, getting locked in the cubicle made it look awfully like a complete abandonment.

And you know what, I learned something from it. I learned that the world doesn’t crumble if I don’t read every notification, I learned that if I take a few days away from Vocal, I get to focus fully on other things, and I learned that I am totally paranoid about upsetting people. Seriously, I have no intention of going back and catching up on everything I missed, but please know I haven’t decided this is not worth my time, that YOU are not worth my time. I have, however, learned that my intuition that Vocal is worth less of my time was correct.

In the days immediately after I published Reply All, I wrestled with the idea of unsubscribing from everyone and starting afresh. However, my list of people I would want to keep reading was not short and I must acknowledge I am going to need a better strategy. Perhaps a daily time or story cap. I will get there, I will find the balance, it just may take a bit of trial and error. But here I am honouring the spirit. I am back on board, and the first thing I have done, without reading a word, is write. Tomorrow, I shall read a little and start working out how to approach that in a way that honours both you and me. Even if it makes me uncomfortable. After all, the dog really did eat my underpants. Ok, I left them on the floor, in a small pile of laundry, to take home after spending the night before our trip at my parents’ house, just a few miles from the airport. You could argue it was my fault, that I should have predicted that my mother would let the beast into their spare bedroom “because she seemed to be looking for you.” Regardless of blame, it remains the case that the comfortable underwear of which I spoke previously had been shredded over the course of my absence. Symbolic, don’t you think?

Perhaps it is time to get myself some audacious bloomers.

Community
17

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I tried the Hannah method a few times. I am quitting, I say, but I never will until the crows come to roost. I noticed you missing. I was gone for about the same time and no one noticed, so there you have it. Dissolution-ment is a fixture on Vocal, inspiration is an illusion. We have to inspire ourselves. Hope the birthday went well, I think we have the same birth sign. Aquarius,

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    I figured you were just on a break! We all do it, need it from time to time. I took a lot more than 4 days, I took like two weeks! When your mind is better you write better. I’ll look forward to seeing what you have in store for us in 2024!

  • Test4 months ago

    Fabulously written as always. We can all only do the best we can and what's right for us 🤍 Definitely noticed but figUred you were lifeing🤍

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    FWIW, I noticed a Hannah-shaped hole in the Matrix. I wasn't upset by it. I thought, in a vague sort of way, "oh, Hannah must be busy" and then went and did something else. I imagine that's pretty standard. In which case, you matter enough that your absence is noted, but not *quite* enough for us to actually be negatively impacted by it in any significant way 😁 No search parties were sent out. Had I got a Christmas card list, and had you been on it, I wouldn't have scrubbed you off.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Ah. this is wonderful. Love your honesty, and your humour. This piece is superbly written and may even be better than the first one. It's an excellent challenge entry. Good luck. p.s. you'll have to keep us updated on the bloomers.

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Your story is humorously relatable. Love the part about finding a balance. Fantastic entry & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I noticed your absence. It wasn't hard because usually I'd see your name everywhere in the comments but then suddenly I didn't. I didn't reach out because you did say you wanna read less. So I knew that it was nothing bad, just you taking a well deserved break. So happy that you wanna find that balance. I wish you all the best for your trial and error! Oh and Happy Birthday! 🎂🥰❤️

  • Mackenzie Davis4 months ago

    Ah, Hannah! That sounds like a hellish adventure, but you make it seem fun -- making the most out of a shitty situation, and then telling the story like an absolute BOSS. Your writing here is so raw, self-deprecating, self-aware. I fully enjoyed reading it! I laughed, I gasped, I vividly imagined. And you know what, I did notice your absence! But at the same time, please remember that we all understand that very balance. I've been struggling so very much to read as much as I ought to and neglected many people, I'm sure (including you and I'm sorry). I, for one, do not expect anyone to be a consistent reader, and would never hold it against you or anyone else for taking a break or unsubscribing, or whatever you needed/wanted to do. The worst thing is to feel like an obligation. Calling it now, you're gonna be on the winners list. This is a fantastic read. And welcome back! (In whatever form it takes.) ❤️ (PS: Given your final line, I expect an update, lol!)

  • John Cox4 months ago

    This is an audacious bit of writing, Hannah. I laughed out loud multiple times. I appreciate the scope of the goals you have set for yourself and glad you took time to honor that with your family. Plus you got a great ‘We’ll laugh about it later’ story out of it!

  • Sounds like a great trip..., until it got tripped up & blown back. Glad that you're back. You do what you need to do, Hannah. Don't worry, we'll still be around.

  • ThatWriterWoman4 months ago

    WAHOO!! I love that you are prioritising yourself and building a healthy relationship with vocal as a social media platform - well done you!

  • Thavien Yliaster4 months ago

    I read the title and instantly thought, "Hopefully those weren't the only thing You were wearing, and that You weren't out in public at the time. Would've been like a scene from 'The Fairly Oddparents' or something out of 'SpongeBob.'" Gotta hop back to give this a proper read and commentary later.

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    I also took time away this weekend and went camping. It was nice to be away from the world. I've always loved nature. I grew up a camping girl, so I felt in my element. BUT it rained the entire time. Sucks. I still enjoyed myself. The absence of cell service felt like a weight had been lifted, so I know what you mean about getting away from everything. Sorry your dog ate your underwear. My cat eats weird shit, too.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    I think we all need to take these steps. I walked away from social media, focus on Vocal when I am in the mood. However like you, I enjoy reading from so many Vocal creators. But I do prioritize now. I have so many comments about the flight that there is it enough space. So I will leave it at glad you found your happy medium with work life balance

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Thank goodness. I thought I'd offended you. It sounds like you've had an adventure. What a way to return! Good to have you back!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    First off...yeah...it was noticed. But, I remembered you had said you were looking to balance...so didn't worry...just noticed. Secondly, woah...that sounds like a whole lot of not fun and also fun too. Glad you had a nice time, even if there was the hellish flight in there too. Thirdly, I like that you are tackling it and moving forward in a way that works for you. Also. erm. I have ran out of numbers. Nice pants? We've had dogs that have done the same though...so no the pain and annoyance lol! Enjoyed this piece a lot!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.