Writers logo

The Beam Retold

A Fledgling Writer's First Attempt

By Kent BrindleyPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
1
The Beam Retold
Photo by John Doyle on Unsplash

...I have to reach back to childhood for this (and rely on my mother's insistence of this as fact).

The "first" piece I ever presented to her was something called, quite simply, "The Beam."

"The Beam."

...I guess I was trying to branch out from writing (and crudely illustrating) "He-Man..." and "G.I. Joe..." Fan Fic in between the established episodes going off of the air and me popping in a VHS tape to watch MORE (I was four or five at the time and didn't know what "Fan Fiction" WAS yet. It was 1988-'89 and the TERM "Fan Fiction" may or may not have been coined yet. As for my ILLUSTRATIONS, I can only hope that my PROSE has improved since I was pre-school aged; but at least I'm developing my own characters now...)

Back to "The Beam."

I know that my mother kept the "manuscript" of lore somewhere; but I wrote it in the same crayons that I was using to almost but not quite DRAW. The penmanship, therefore, is a little difficult for me to make out anymore through the lenses of 38 year old eyeballs.

As to the premise of this "...Beam," well, a giant beam generator doesn't operate on its own, make sentient decisions, or have plans. If we're centering fiction around the owner of a beam cannon, he is most likely a mad scientist or deranged general/commander (maybe possibly a gung-ho, muscle-bound, narrow-minded military protagonist with the best of intentions but I seriously doubt that that's where my mind was going. Again, you're talking about a scribe who, at either four or five, was either WATCHING "He-Man" or "G.I. Joe" or the like, playing with the figures to spin/act out side adventures, or writing [in crayon] the episodes that the PROFESSIONAL scriptwriters would never dream of creating).

Anyway, as to the proper USE of a giant beam, well, it probably wasn't to build schools/forge communities; unless the operator of said weapon is Dr. Benton Quest (Johnny Quest) or Man-at-Arms (the aforementioned "He-Man..."). Yeah, the owner of a giant beam cannon is DEFINITELY a lunatic antagonist; the kind that I would root against on Saturday mornings (or, hey, in the case of Destro or Cobra Commander, in syndication. Yeah, I don't see Skeletor using a giant beam cannon unless Trap Jaw built it. Maybe Hordak might have; but, again, Hordak was closer to a deranged military leader than a sorcerer).

...Well, for better or for worse, that was "The Beam," written by a young Animation/Action Figure Nerd of somewhere between 4 and 6; and retold by a slightly jaded 38 year old.

(I wonder where that manuscript IS...)

AchievementsProcess
1

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • slimizzy9 months ago

    https://vocal.media/writers/the-unlikely-duo-m21c0wb1

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.