Writers logo

Thank You

Artists Supporting Artists

By S. C. AlmanzarPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
Thank You
Photo by Austin Schmid on Unsplash

I've received so much love and support from the Vocal community over the past couple of weeks, and I just wanted to say thank you.

Thank you for reading, for reacting, for commenting, for subscribing... It all means the world to me that I can share my writing and have it resonate with other people.

Writing is a great comfort to me, something that I use to process complicated feelings, to escape life for a little while, and to just simply express myself. It's so motivating to know that these little words of mine can mean something to others as well.

I was 11 when I started to take creative writing more seriously, when I saw it as a tool and as a friend. I filled notebooks with chapters of mostly fanfiction, but some original work as well. I looked forward to each evening when I could listen to music and scribble away for an hour or two before shutting my light off to sleep and dream more of writing. I was so secretive with it too, I hid these notebooks and made sure they never crossed paths with my school notebooks. I was embarrassed of my writing and did not want anyone to see it. Perhaps it was a bit "cringe" - but we all have to start somewhere, don't we? Cringe is necessary and wonderful in the process of art. I cannot remember where I saw the quote, but it goes like, "Do not kill the cringe part of yourself. Instead, kill the part of you which cringes."

And it's true. Being able to feel some embarrassment for your early work means you can see room for improvement, that you have made some progress in your work. None of our past writing is a mistake or something to shun. All of it has been part of the building blocks that make us the artists we are today. I had a professor (who is Hindu) who told our class, "None of my previous avatars were a waste. All of them have led me to this moment, I have experienced those lives and I learn from them." I believe this is a wonderful lesson regardless of if you are someone who believes in literal past lives or not. Think of it as the various stages of the life you are living now. No one begins a craft as an expert, no one can start a new journey without any bumps in the road. It is all part of the experience.

I suppose this has been my long winded way of saying that I, like many writers, have been on a journey thus far. From being shy and not wanting anyone to ever lay eyes on my work to feeling confident enough to share my writing, and therefore my heart, with the world. I hope to continue this forever.

Now, I can't write an article focused on being thankful for support without also showing a bit of support myself. I also want to use this space to bring attention to stories that I have recently read and loved. I've learned that this really is a platform full of support and a place to uplift each other, and I'd like to keep that going!

"Stay" by Jessica Vann

Speak soft, sombre saviour...

"The Final Chapter" by Katrina Cain

Tomorrow will be ashes

Yesterday would be gone,

No more walks on the beach

Or dusk until dawns.

"In the Darkness of the Night" by Teresa Rosall

In the darkness of the night in my room for the night.

I am alone with my thoughts that are running wild in my mind.

So I pick up the pen and paper and begin to write what my thoughts are telling me.

"Esperanza Rising" by Ruth Ann

Even though the door on our old house had been shut by our family for the last time that day, my home had not been left behind.

"If you do, make it short." by Jazzy Gonçalves

Perhaps it's time

Take the mask off

For anyone to see

AchievementsShoutoutCommunity
2

About the Creator

S. C. Almanzar

I am a graduate student studying anthropology and have been writing creatively for almost 20 years. I love new takes on alternative history, especially when there are fantasy or supernatural elements included.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.