Writers logo

Sun & Moon

8th Grade science

By Walter D. WitherspoonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1

The first piece I ever wrote was about the sun and moon if I had to describe it. In my 8th grade science class , my teacher gave us an assignment to write a poem or story about space I thought of The sun being made by The devil, The moon being created by God. The reason I said the sun was created by Satan is only because its hot an also because how the the crime rate Goes up in summertime and heat from the sun causes humans to act out because the heat bothers the good parts of peoples soul and the sun rays cause people to be anger "hints another term for being angry is getting hot. At this time in my life, I lived in the urban part of Detroit, Michigan so most of the time all I saw was crimes, drugs, and violence, and the crime rate all was rose during the summertime, Another thing I paid attention to was how the moon was so bright during the darkest time of the night , and God side he is the light in the dark and and in my 12 year old imagaintion his light was watching over us at night and the stars are innocent souls that died on earth and seems they didn't get to shine on earth so he made them stars in the sky the brighter the start the more innocent the soul. I was only 12 years old at the time and I had kept this page with me for years I carried it everyday to school ,I got extra credit A for the story for that whole week and I know I wanted to be a writer every seens then. My dream Goals was to be NBA superstar but God had a back up plan for my life my I still play basketball as a simi pro basketball. I used to right love poems to girls I had crushes on when I was in middle school but I had a problem spelling ,one girls names I spelled wrong so my first flaw was working on my spelling ,I got laugh at alot of that I still to today but I put in the work on that but , lack of spelling didnt come from public schooling and is terrible doctrine I found out at 16 I was dyslexic But I learn not to claim that because words of power. As a kid one of my favorite video games was The legend of Zelda not just because I got to fight monster But how I had to read to get to the next part of the game, zelda has many Games and titles I only beat two of them, twilight princess and wind waker. The term Reading is fundamental I heard when was little ,I didnt understand it until I came across tough part In the game were I didnt understand the task because I was reading the words I just was not understanding What I was reading ,But as I practice my reading I startded understand the term Reading is fundamental. This game is not only help me work on reading but problem solving and spelling .My first I lost my first piece of work was lost in a flood on my basement or lost some in my old bookbag in Detroit and some of my other work Is lost as well I was hurt but I still kept writing and I still working on my writing today I have more then jsuts love poems and stuff about video games now as I matrue as a person I become better as a writer.

ChallengeWriting Exercise
1

About the Creator

Walter D. Witherspoon

Hey I am new to this platform I am just to share my stories,poems,and ideas. Good day thank God!!!!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER8 months ago

    Yes, as we write and mature, our writings mature. This is lovely. I am sorry that you lost your originals. I see that you are creating new originals. It seems that you have not had an easy life, but you remain steadfast in making it better. I applaud you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.