Writers logo

Some Stories Are Worth rewriting and editing.

I'm No Expert, But Some Things Are Worth rewriting and editing.

By Carol TownendPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Some Stories Are Worth rewriting and editing.
Photo by Xu Haiwei on Unsplash

I'm writing this story as a series at the moment.

I have decided not to put limits on this one because I want to show a variety of my musical tastes.

I listen to a wide variety of different music in different genres and from many different times.

If I were to rush this article, I wouldn't be able to include all of my musical tastes, so I am writing it in several parts.

I wrote the following chapters a while back:

You'll find chapters to other stories in my profile.

So, what's taking me so long?

I am taking my time with the stories and tweaking them as I go along. At the same time, I am working out edits and rewriting some parts of my older chapters, including those above.

I believe that some stories are worth taking the time to write.

Some of my older chapters were written a while back when I was exploring writing; though now, I have decided it is time to take my writing more seriously because I'd like to turn some of my horror stories into books.

Emma is my biggest writing challenge because it has a complicated storyline with many twists and plots. I break traditional rules in writing these kinds of stories. I enjoy using my imagination, and pushing my writing beyond the usual boundaries and limits.

I have big plans for Emma's future chapters and my other chapters.

I go through my stories whenever I can; especially my fiction stories. When I do that, I often come up with more ideas which is why I haven't started any more chapters yet.

I often read through them and sit jotting notes, which leads to more storylines and plots. I take my time reading my stories back to myself and I find things I can add to, take out, and many other storylines that enrich my stories.

Sometimes, it can take months for me to go through my stories while adding fresh twists.

It is worth it because it keeps your stories current, and allows you to add fresh ideas to them.

I love writing my stories, and I enjoy exciting and thrilling storylines, particularly in horror, so I have been taking my time with my chapter stories, tweaking the storylines into something more exciting, and adding colour to them.

When people start a story, they usually get to the finishing line and simply end it there, but for me; I think it is worth adding in those new ideas.

A story isn't lost just because you end it where it ends. Of course, they have to end somewhere, but, when you read back your stories, you may come up with more ideas that make them refreshing and exciting.

Why not do a 'quick edit' and add those extra ideas to your old stories?

It might take some time, but you might find that the effort was worth it. You may read a paragraph back, and think of a twist in the the plot that may make the story more interesting to your readers.

The beauty of writing on Vocal is that you can play with your stories, and take your time writing them. You can go back over your past stories and edit them.

All it takes is a little effort on your part, and if you enjoy writing, then you will enjoy the process more if you make it fun.

A little imagination and a little creativity are all it takes.

You don't have to write perfect stories, but you can have fun by incorporating new ideas into your stories.

After all, your writing time should be your playtime.

Writing ExerciseVocalProcessInspirationAdvice
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.