Writers logo

Pushing Things Away

Thoughts On Writing

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
11
An AI Image By The Author

My attempt at "Book of Rules" by The Heptones

Introduction

I have put together one story today and I expect that it will get a lot of reads, it is already generating a lot of reaction outside of Vocal.

I have recently become a member of a couple of Facebook Folk Groups and had to leave one because a couple of members were causing a lot of toxicity as a result of my work.

The latest one I have joined, I am still getting criticized but it is good-natured, resulting in a lot of conversation just spurred by what I have written.

Some people see my work as colouring way outside the lines, and I admit sometimes it is, but all art should provoke some reaction good or bad.

I once knew someone who would only listen to British Heavy Metal released between 1974 and 1976. I do find attitudes like that very narrow-minded, but each to their own. Some folk aficionados have a similar attitude to folk music, but as I say the current group I am a member of is knowledgeable and good-natured, and lots of them have read my work.

And So To My Writing

I seem to be getting a lot of negative ideas for writing stories. complaining about situations or being snarky about things, and that is certainly not my style. I want people to come out of my stories with a smile on their face, and maybe having learned something.

I'm not really happy unless I am making others happy, or helping them in some way, or doing something to make my own life better.

So here I was, getting ideas, realising they were not positive, and therefore, in my opinion, not worthy. and effectively binning them.

Then I thought, "Why not write about the process? Tell others that it is ok to bin ideas until an idea comes that you see is worthy of your own time and effort.

I believe that this was worth sharing with other Vocal Creators and I home you think this was worth my time to share with you.

Thank you so much for reading.

LifeVocalProcessGuidesAdvice
11

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    I'm glad you've found a group where even the naysayers are enjoyable. Blessings & best wishes. (And yeah, I've binned more than a few myself.)

  • I'd prefer if you wrote stories or poems about those negative ideas too, instead of binning them. But that's just me. We should only write for ourselves and only write want we want to. Also, I'm so happy you found another Folk group! Your singing was awesome!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    When the best ideas come you will know!! Also, always love seeing and hearing you play and sing!! Great song. 😁 Good work Mike. I never kept up with my instruments so credit to you!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    You got a hair cut. Nice song choice. It’s nice to have a bonus video. Everyone have their opinions. Some people don’t know how to accept other differences. It should not be an argument but a discussion for a better understanding .

  • GOOD ARTICLE

  • Mother Combs4 months ago

    💙

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Good article. " I want people to come out of my stories with a smile on their face, and maybe having learned something."- this really landed for me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.