Writers logo

Proud Voices in Minor (ViM)

An Introduction of sorts

By Proud ViM ProductionsPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read

So, things have been pretty hectic at Proud ViM HQ. In case you haven’t yet stumbled into us. We’re a small but active community of avid readers and writers. And if you already have stumbled this'a way, we appreciate you! Challenges, fun, and general creative chit-chat is the name of the game in our little corner of the net.

We’ve only been around for a short while, but a few exciting updates have gone down over the past week. We’ve joined forces with Queer Vocal Voices on Facebook, which means lots more shenanigans to be getting on with. Including a shiny new Proud ViM Discord group which you can drop into here:

Note: Discord links expire after seven days so if you come across this after that time period ask for a link in the comments!

Not to mention our new shared Vocal profile. We're a friendly bunch but be warned, we have zero tolerance for unattributed or AI generated content. So please, don't dive in if that's your bag because you'll be dived right back out again - along with your bot! Its not worth your time or ours. Seriously.

Aside from all that, we also have some very- not quite ready to break ‘Breaking News’ about an upcoming challenge. So um. Watch this space!

Meet the ViM and Queer Voices team:

River Joy (Queer Vocal Voices Admin, ViM Mod and Proud ViM Discord Admin)

Hi I'm River (they/them) and I'm allergic to people asking me to write these (but I will this time!). I'm autistic. Queer. Purveyor of nonsense and poetry. Community builder. I've been writing most of my life, I studied visual art in school, my concentration was photography, now I just like to doodle. I love chess, enough to stream other people's games. I'm not very good yet, but like most things they take time. Retail has been my actual job of choice for the last ten or so years despite being an introvert that hates small talk. Community is one of the most valuable things to me.

Ma Combs (ViM Admin and Proud ViM Discord Mod)

“Howdy! My name is Sharon Combs, and I write under the nom de plume “Mother Combs.” I write a mixture of fiction and poetry, sometimes combining the two. My favorite things to write are fairy tales and inspirational poems. When I’m not at my keyboard, I love to spend time with my family, play with the cats and dogs, or just sit outside and watch the chickens run around. Being disabled, I have plenty of time on my hands. I believe writers were meant to gather and talk in pubs, inns, and the like, and with these modern times, Facebook Groups and other social media sites are quickly taking over those antiquated places of old.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Celia in Underland (ViM Admin and Proud ViM Discord Mod)

Hi, Celia here... Word-a-holic, high school English teacher and deputy principal by day, and scrawler by night. More boho than Balenciaga, I'm still figuring out my style. Maybe I never will, but I'm happy with the hippie thing. Suits my ecclectic brain. When I'm not marking or lesson planning, I can be found with a nose in a book or a pen in my hand. There's usually a cat or three nearby giving one or other of my muscles cramp.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Susanna Johnston (ViM Mod)

Suze Kay is a Yale-educated Art Historian, an ICE-trained pastry chef, and a renegade writer. A Poet Laureate told her to stop writing poetry, and even that couldn't hold her down. She likes to find light in darkness and beauty in the banal. She lives with her husband and her cat in Hoboken, New Jersey, and writes through the night.

Poppy (ViM Mod)

Hi, Poppy is my pseudonym I made to share my raw poetry and occasionally a depressing short story or two. I’m a Star Wars fan who loves rock music and fantasy books. I’ve self published one poetry book “Wasted Love” and am hoping to one day professionally publish lots more poetry books as well as fantasy novels under my real name.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oneg In the Arctic (Queer Vocal Voices Admin)

Oneg is a genderfluid queer elementary school teacher who is honoured to live and work on an arctic island in Northwest Territories, Turtle Island. They focus on facilitating safer spaces and teach through a trauma-informed and anti-oppression framework. Oneg's writing focuses on themes of mental health, identity, and arctic living. They enjoy writing poems they never read, stories about unhappy endings, and a variety of randomness during writing binges that are energy drink-induced. When that isn’t happening, you can find Oneg zooming through the house with their cat while the dog and wife sigh in resignation to the madness.

Water is Life.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

J. Delaney-Howe (Queer Vocal Voices Admin)

Finding poetic inspiration in nature and Love, Jim is a prolific Vocal writer. Writing is what is his passion and he especially loves the power of words to resonate and reach out across the divide. Giving voice to that which otherwise might be left unsaid or unchallenged.

You can join us here at Facebook ViM:

and Queer Vocal Voices here:

Note: Queer Vocal Voices is only accepting members of the LGBTQ+ community at the moment, we will open up to allies in time!

We're focused on building a supportive, kind community network so please feel free to add thoughts, comments, suggestions below! We'd love to hear from you! And don't forget to support us with a happy heart and a subscribe!

ResourcesVocalCommunity

About the Creator

Proud ViM Productions

Alone, we are letters floating in the wind. Combined, we are an Opus. We hold community in our core, "We all rise when we lift each other up"

ProudViM.com

Voices in Minor Facebook

Queer Vocal Voices

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Howdy Proud Voices!!!

  • Test4 months ago

    Look at all these cool cats

  • That is an All-Star team of creative minds if I have ever seen one! I love how this is all moving ahead with such gusto! Nicely done, all!

  • Just saying hello

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    Take me to your leader! 😊

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    Yay!! I love the AI part. "You'll be dived right back out again" almsot made me laugh out laugh.

  • Oneg In The Arctic5 months ago

    Oh look! It’s some cool peeps

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Woohoooo!! This is so awesome and exciting!! ❤️❤️

  • Hayley Matto5 months ago

    So excited to share with this wonderful people and hear all your stories, poems, quips! Much love 🤍

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    ❤️❤️❤️ Congratulations!

  • Awesome 😎

  • Test5 months ago

    🖤 yay!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    💙

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Who are all these people and how did I end up in the wonderful group?

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    Heart freely and happily given!

Proud ViM ProductionsWritten by Proud ViM Productions

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.