Writers logo

Prompted: #2

March Challenge (unofficial)

By Randy BakerPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
29

PROMPTED: INTRODUCTION

The February Prompted Challenge was such a success that there was little question that I should follow it up, just as I had hoped to do. For the March Challenge, we'll be switching from poetry to prose.

Due to the increased amount of time needed for reading and judging this one, I decided not to delay between the results of Prompted #1 and opening Prompted #2 for submissions. If you choose to participate, please make sure you read and comply with the rules and requirements.

I welcome your feedback and encourage you to join in the fun. Also, please help spread the word. The more the merrier!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE PROMPT

The March Challenge will be to write a short story between 2,000 and 4,000 words in length. To be clear, this is not a flash fiction, or microfiction, challenge. Your entry must be newly posted to Vocal, not something from your archive.

Your story should be centered on one of the following prompt words. The word you choose should be central to the story and is to be taken literally, not metaphorically. In other words, if you choose "door", an actual door must be central to your story.

  • Door
  • Compass
  • Key
  • Clock
  • Candle
  • Anchor

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE RULES

The rules are simple.

Follow the instructions above for using the prompt. Your story must be posted in the Fiction community. You must provide the link to your story in the comments below. Only those entries that follow these instructions correctly will be considered for a prize.

Entries will be accepted from the time the challenge is publicly posted until 11:59 PM (US Central Time) on March 14, 2024. Winners of the challenge will be announced on, or before, March 19, 2024. Only one entry per person will be accepted for this challenge.

It is not required that you link back to this post for your entry to be valid, but it would be appreciated if you help spread the word by doing so. To reiterate, you must post a link to your entry in the comments below.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE PRIZES

Winners will be chosen by me, at my sole discretion. Prizes will be distributed on Vocal as Tips. Winners are determined by content and quality, but you MUST have tipping enabled to receive payment. The awards will be as follows:

1st Place: $50.00

2nd Place: $30.00

3rd Place: $20.00

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Keep track of this and future prompts by hitting the "subscribe" button on my profile.

Questions or feedback? Let me know in the comments. Good luck!

- Randy

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THE ENTRIES

"The Doors of Tazir" by Matthew Fromm

"Ogma's Candle" by D.J. Reddall

"The Keep" by Hannah Moore

"Game On!" by Lamar Wiggins

"The Clock" by Shirley Belk

"Cleaning Up" by Suze Kay

"Time Will Tell" by Heather Zieffle

Writing ExercisePromptsChallenge
29

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Hi Randy. I have tried to write something for this challenge but realise that I have missed the deadline and with my writing a microfiction every day, I've just not been able to devote the time to writing it. I am gutted. Hoping to catch the next one and publish this when I finish it. I just left it far too late and life has conspired against me!

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Wonderful challenge. I'm discovering it too late for this month, but I'll find you next time! Good luck to all the entries. Great stuff thus far!

  • Heather Zieffle 2 months ago

    This is last minute. I was gone for a while unexpectedly so I'm sorry if I've missed any editing. https://vocal.media/fiction/time-will-tell-7cnx0zh5

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I have yet to partake in one of your challenges because poetry is not my style. I like it I just cannot write it. But this one really is tempting.

  • Suze Kay2 months ago

    Here's my humble offering, Randy. https://vocal.media/fiction/cleaning-up-2le70yzc Thanks for inspiring so many of us! Can't wait to read some more entries this evening.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    I made it before the deadline this time, lol. https://vocal.media/fiction/game-on-en2cq0hmq

  • Hi Randy, Suze Kay here! I just wanted to let you know I mentioned your challenge in this post: https://vocal.media/journal/suze-is-hunting-muses-2 Hopefully more people see it and get excited, like I am :)

  • Real Poetic2 months ago

    Hmm I’m sure I can think of something for this one!

  • Poppy 2 months ago

    Just saw this and I’m so sorry my March prompts has one of the same words😭 I had ‘compass’ planned for ages hahah, guess it’s a good prompt lol. Anyway great challenge Randy!

  • Matthew Fromm3 months ago

    Here you go Randy-- tough challenge https://vocal.media/fiction/the-doors-of-tazir

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Woah! This is an awesome prompt! Thank you for hosting this challenge!

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    I'm wondering what the most popular word creators will chose to write about. Side bets anyone? Haha.. Seriously though, I can't what to see what we come up with. Another great challenge, Randy!

  • Whoaaaa, your prizes! That's so generous! It's been quite long since I wrote a story that exceeded 2000 words. But I'll see if Mr Brain comes up with anything!

  • Ok let's do this! Thanks Randy!

  • Heather Zieffle 3 months ago

    This sounds like fun! Thanks for the challenge 😁

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    OK, something new to turn the creative gears. Thanks for the prompt!

  • Matthew Fromm3 months ago

    Upping the stakes I see…I got one for ya coming right up once it hits the page lol

  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Randy, your prizes are so generous! Thank you for running such a unique and rewarding challenge for us. It's quite awesome of you. Love the words! I've been wanting to write a longer short story, actually, so this might be the perfect excuse. 🤗

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I'm in! Just have to think now...

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    oooooh....like the sound of this one. I shall be entering something for this for sure. Well done, Randy on another tantalising challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.