Writers logo

People Pleaser, At Your Service

How Do I Always End Up Here?

By Rebekah BTPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2

How do I always end up here?

I make sure to take every correct step,

To learn from my past relationships,

To avoid ending up in the same damn situation.

People pleaser at your service,

I will cater to your needs and leave mine behind,

I shall shine all my light on you so you can grow,

While I slowly dissipate in the dark.

But what happens when my tank runs empty?

I’ve given so much of my light I’m already running off fumes.

So, try as I might, but all the fight is gone,

And all that is left is the flight part of it all.

The part when you numb yourself to avoid these pains,

To prevent this loneliness amidst this chaotic wave of people.

They come crashing down on me,

And I block my nose and close my eyes,

Hoping for the best outcome.

Then again, I’ve lowered my threshold of standards,

It doesn’t take me much to dive in once again.

Desperate in hopes that this time,

They will see me, care for me,

Throw me a floatie when I need some support.

But to my dismay,

My hand is up, my head is underwater,

But not one floatie for me to grab onto.

The waves won, carrying me to the bottom,

My white flag is too dampened for me to wave anyway.

Life
2

About the Creator

Rebekah BT

Wanderer of words, striving to embellish my vocabulary.

I find beauty in sadness and convey them into writing.

Bringing awareness to addictions, mental health and the struggles of life.

Author of Book "Behind Skye's Eyes"

www.rebekahbt.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Your poem beautifully captures the struggle of a people pleaser, someone who dedicates themselves to meeting others' needs at the expense of their own well-being. The metaphor of shining light on others while slowly dissipating in the dark is poignant and resonant. The imagery of running on empty and the emotional exhaustion that follows is palpable. The poem captures the vulnerability and yearning for recognition and care in a world where one feels unseen. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.