Writers logo

Peculiar things that happen at Vocal that no one explains and how to get de-motivated when you try to do something helpful

My final chapter of this peculiar investment-not journey. And what has happened to some people's TIPPING option.

By Novel AllenPublished 2 months ago โ€ข Updated 2 months ago โ€ข 4 min read
22

Apparently, someone wanted to give me a tip, but the option has disappeared, I notice this on other profiles as well.

Dangled like marionettes.

Over the course of my 2+ years on Vocal, I was amassing my Vocal earnings into a 'rainy day fund' for myself. Mind you, I had not won any significant amounts, just my top stories, tips, honorary mentions and such the likes. I decided to reinvest this into Vocal when they reached out for investors, and in time make a profit while aiding in the upliftment of a platform which I enjoyed.

As you may all be aware, I was, initially, very enthusiastic to jump into the Vocal Investment pool.

I should really listen to my mother's advice more often, 'to take sleep and mark death' (not totally sure what it means), but I imagine she meant that one should really consider a situation before blindly jumping in. Or maybe pay attention to the signs and omens before diving in where angels fear to tread or trod.

I quickly sent in my few dollars the first time that they asked for investors. Happy that I had done so, I relaxed and waited for the next step. Lo and behold, the money was returned to me. OK, I thought, maybe a mistake had been made, so I enquired for the meaning of this action. So sorry, they said, just resend it, we will do the rest. (unquote, unquote).

I did not do so immediately. I waited for it to grow some more. During this time, I was bombarded with AI generated requests to continue to make the payment. Finally, after watching the Webinar on the investment situation, I again sent in my payment.

SIGH!!!

I sat back and now waited for final confirmation of my second attempt at acceptance. I waited...and waited...and waited. Finally, I got an e-mail saying thanks for etc...etc..we will send you emails over the next days detailing the follow up on said investments.

I smiled and exhaled. AHHHH! Finally!

STOP....

That is when I noticed that the money had again popped up back in my account. It had again been returned.

I danced a jig, booked a vacation, added a personal bonus to myself and the rest is a vacation away from it all. Sighs of relief as my investment journey has come to be a story of a mystified and befuddled ending.

Not to mention that I have to start saving for a rainy day all over again.

BUT

After nary a word from the Vocal folks about why my money had been twice returned, I started to feel phlurked and phracked. DID EVERYBODY GET THEIR MONEY RETURNED, I asked myself. I have no idea.

I understand that Vocal folks are too busy to concern themselves with the likes of a small almost non existent fry like me on the platform. I must get over myself, after all, who do I think that I am? Really! Why should anyone explain such a thing.

So I sat and conjured up the many reasons why this could have happened.

Here they are:

1. I am in the UK and I am not a business entity, UK, Canada and etc, are not allowed to invest for various reasons.

2. They don't want me on their Board of Directors.

3. I am not a Vocal Elite member. (pshaw)

4. I am a Black Chocolate Ebony feisty woman

5. I keep writing crap that they don't like.

6. I talk too much.

7. It must be my twilight beauty

8. I need to not feel so Vocally awesome (I used to, it is frittering away)

9. I should get over myself, they don't want or need my money

10. I don't use Discord

11. I am not posting much on FB or anywhere

12. My Top Stories have declined sharply

13. ................

I am now exhausted in the reasons department.

SUDDENLY NOW...Stripe has started harassing me about my new 'Business' venture on 'Aln.create'. How did Stripe get involved with all of this. I have not started a business that I am aware of. Who started a T-shirt business for me on Stripe? Sherlock Holmes is urgently needed. They have started pausing my transactions on Stripe.

This appears on my Stripe acct

$20.00

ALN.CREATE* TSHIRT

$340.00

$63.00

I gave them every chance to explain. I emailed Vocal to ask if they know anything about this, maybe a mistake was made. I have yet to receive a reply. So I am forced to broadcast my woes once again.

Did I start a business and not know or remember about it, not on ALN.CREATE. The timing of this is quaintly mysterious. Woe is me.

I feel totally stressed, phlurked and fracked, I tell ya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Do I need a lawyer or the devil?

After much back and forth, cussin', threats of closing my Stripe acct. and God knows what, Stripe finally ok'ed and accepted (whatever) today 3/7/2024(I am still not sure what transpired or happened as the TSHIRT matter is not cleared up).

Whether or not I have a Tshirt business was not acknowledged and is still included in my info on Stripe. Another mystery yet to be solved!!!

............................................................................................................

ProcessStream of ConsciousnessLife
22

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Bozhan Bozhkov2 months ago

    " I am in the UK and ..." This is the problem. Vocal authorities as American citizens, they did not think that there were difficulties with investors from other parts of the world. (It is really complicated) I suppose, that it is impossible to invest in Vocal shares from outside USA. And Vocal staff did not care because there are enough Americans on the platform.

  • J2 months ago

    Sounds a little 'money laundering-y' to me... Maybe they can only take in so much at a time to be able to process it in a way that doesn't get them dinged, so if they're overloaded with 'investments', they bounce back so as not to draw attention to the fake businesses they're using to funnel money through. Probably a bit conspiracy theorist of me, but like Gloria said, "I am what I am". As for the saying, I believe your interpretation is right. I always took it as a literal "they're not dead, just sleeping" with 'they' being any potential threat or behaviour with malicious intent, masking as good will. Be wary of good deeds done for selfish reasons. Benevolence and manipulation are hard to tell apart, sometimes.

  • Whoaaaa, as if all of that wasn't confusing enough, now this Tshirt matter crops up? Like where did that even come from? I'm so baffled!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Loved this! I haven't messed with anything AI (or at least don't have knowledge of doing so,) but I have always had problems with Stripe. Although Vocal wallet says, "paid," there has been no money forwarded to my bank. Seems like it has been lost in limbo...I love the part of calling the lawyer or the devil. I get it!

  • Riddle me this: What can you tell the difference between a lawyer & the Devil? You can't if they're a Nebraska fan & wear red all the time. (My brother-in-law is both lawyer & Nebraska fan & would have told this himself if he had thought about it. Then again, maybe he has.)

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    WOW! ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿพ

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    FYI, my size is XL. But I'm on Monjouro, so I hope to be in an L pretty soon. I had asked if I could invest my $100 from my Vocal wallet. They said I could not, but they're working on it. Since then, I'm just writin'.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Ugh!!! Sounds like a headache to me. And the phantom t-shirt business? Lol Hmm, might be something to that. I would buy one. Hope this all gets ironed out quickly for you!

  • Skyler Saunders2 months ago

    The frustration and near rage illustrate this story. It is completely relatable and marks a key entry in the saga for improving Vocal.Media. As courageous as this piece is, it is also enlightening and well worded

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    The top option for you is back. I donโ€™t understand the link ๐Ÿ”— between stripe/tshirt/ vocal? I use stripe for both Medium and Vocal- both show in my stripe account. It looks like your stripe was hacked?

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    I find Stripes hard to work. Good luck working this out.

  • Denise E Lindquist2 months ago

    Wow!! I went back and forth. It seemed like a good incentive. Never clicked the final thing.๐Ÿ˜‰ Have you gotten the T-shirt money or is that going somewhere else? Hopefully, they get that error fixed soon!

  • Emily Binkley2 months ago

    Uh mmm yeah, the math ain't mathing. ๐Ÿคฃ I love your mom quote though.

  • ema2 months ago

    For sure It's n. 6: you talk too much ๐Ÿ˜‚ By the way Novel, I really understand you because all this is crazy! It happened something similar to me in other platform in 2017, we want to feel part of a community but then technology and organization /human error make us fall apart. The lawyer is not enough, maybe the devil can do something...

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Wow, thatโ€™s confusing! Hope you get plenty of tips now!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Just like, what?????

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.