Writers logo

Orlleo & Penelope

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
Like
Orlleo & Penelope
Photo by Social History Archive on Unsplash

Well before the Civil War freed all enslaved people. There were people buying their freedom. There were slaves who master let them go. There were freedmen who paid the widow of their master to become free. I was one of them Orlleo. All my youth I gave to the system. All my strength and all my life, I was mostly enslaved. My parents came from Africa. And I was purchased at conception. Master attained about three hundred slaves. And I am one of the youngest when I was born. It happened after I raised a family. After I worked most of my life. That master died and his widow fell unto hard times. She could not afford all the slaves that she had and so it was lawful to give them their freedom. My plan was to first get my freedom then to free the rest of my family. So I told the miss that I would make a deal for my freedom. I would work for three more months and I will be freed from her. And she agreed and made a contract and she gave me my freedom papers dated on the time I could leave. So I was happy working for my freedom. I did more work than I ever because I knew freedom was coming. And I kept up. The widow came to remind me Orlleo you worked hard enough. I decided to let you and the rest of your family go. I took all the papers and shook her hand strongly. And that night we left.

Orlleo I ain't got all my stuff. I don't want to leave anything behind. Freedom isn't a game. We worked all our lives to be free said Penelope. Can't you wait a little longer to make sure we got everything, she further said to Orlleo. And Orlleo said You don't know if we don't escape now with our freedom papers. She might died, the widow and her family may take our freedom hurry Penelope with the kids. As the family travelled a great distance, they were bound in Ohio and moved to Pennsylvania, they were stopped. The police said Orlleo and Penelope we're gonna need a copy of these freedom papers. Just to make sure they are legit. So why don't ya come on down to the station. Orlleo and Penelope with their kids agreed. The police interrogated them and held them off for a few days and release them early morning. Orlleo and Penelope and their kids went back on the trail trying to find the Underground Railroad and they never found it. Penelope said We are on our own Orlleo. We are out here alone. What good is freedom. What good is freedom. The children might starve. Orlleo said Calm down Penelope. There's help look. And they saw Quakers driving by and the driver asked if they escaped. And Orlleo and Penelope signaled that they did. The Quakers told them to get on board and they will take care of them. So Orlleo and Penelope and their kids worked and abode with the Quakers. And they begin to earn a living wage and had a home and provided for their kids. After many months almost a year, Mr. Still, the Quaker, alerted Orlleo and Penelope that he saw in the newspaper that they are looking for a family of slaves. And the master is from Ohio and described them just like them. Orlleo said See Penelope I told you that she might change. I told you that we would of been slaves all our lives if we stayed one night. Mr. Still said It's okay you are welcome to stay as long as possible. We are willing to die for you. Because that's what Chirstians ought to do. It's in the Bible. Orlleo said We can't asked you to do that. You've already done enough. You saved my family when we were lost. But could you hide us until we are well off to do on our own. Mr.Still said I think I can do that.

Several years later, Mr. Still exclaimed Orlleo and Penelope you have to leave. They are coming to drag you back into slavery. Orlleo said I would rather die than spend another night into slavery. I would give up my life to see my children walk free. Penelope run away let me fight this last fight. Penelope said Orlleo I love you. Come with us. Come with us. Orlleo grab their stuff and they rode to the New York border. Mr. Still was with them and told them that they got to get to Canada. And Mr. Still said he cannot enter Canada. They had dogs and men and horses by the only open to the border. Mr. Still suggested a boat. So Penelope and their kids got into the boat but they needed a distraction. Orlleo suggested himself to be the distraction and Mr. Still broke his oath to not go into Canada and he promised Orlleo that his family will be safe. So Orlleo rode a horse and had a gun and he distracted the bounty hunters. Orlleo almost made it back to the boat but was shot when he got into the water. The bounty hunters thought he was dead. And Penelope screamed to go back for him. Orlleo was just wounded badly. Mr. Still did some first aid to him. Orlleo said before passing out, I never thought I would be on my back for freedom. I never thought I would be free fully. I never thought I would make it but we did.

Achievements
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.