Writers logo

Nuggets Of Inspiration To Get Any Writer "Unstuck"

We've all been there, just don't stay there

By Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!!Published 2 months ago 4 min read
Like
Nuggets Of Inspiration To Get Any Writer "Unstuck"
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

You’ve started writing on Vocal Media. You’re busy crafting that next novel. You’re growing your business. Things are good.

Until the day when the doubt creeps in. The times the claps dwindle. The random days when the fire is just a flicker.

You’re human. It happens.

There will be days of Fighting Procrastination, Searching for Inspiration, and even the BIG one — “Am I really a writer, or am I kidding myself?”

For these sadly unavoidable moments, the key is to have an Arsenal of Inspiration nearby — a collection of quick-grab books, quotes, thoughts, even YouTube videos or favorite playlists designed to re-inspire, to encourage, to call you on your shit and to get you through that one rough day… to write again.

Here are some of my favorites to have on stand-by, ready to serve:

  • Art Matters by Neil Gaiman
  • Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
  • The War of Art by Steven Pressfield
  • Steal Like An Artist, Share Your Work! and Keep Going by Austin Kleon
  • Wild Words by Nicole Gulotta
  • Writing Down to the Bones by Natalie Goldberg
  • The Artists Way by Julia Cameron

Whoa, that looks like a lot of reading. Happily, I’m here to provide you with One Quote from each book — a sort of tempting sample, a little morsel.

With so much inspiration it won’t be easy, but I’ll try. Here we go.

Neil Gaiman, Art Matters:

“The world always seems brighter when you’ve just made something that wasn’t there before.”

Natalie Goldberg, Writing Down to the Bones:

“That’s writing. Once you’re deep into it, you wonder what took you so long to finally settle down at the desk.

Steven Pressfield, The War of Art:

“There’s a secret that real writers know that wannabe writer’s don’t: It’s not the writing part that’s hard. What’s hard is sitting down to write. What keeps us from sitting down is Resistance.”

Austin Kleon, Steal Like An Artist:

“Everything that needs to be said has already been said. But, since no one was listening, everything must be said again. If we’re free from the burden of trying to be completely original, we can stop trying to make something out of nothing… Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination.”

Austin Kleon, Show Your Work!

“The best way to get started on the path to sharing your work is to think about what you want to learn, and make a commitment to learning it in front of others… Talk about things you love. Your voice will follow.

Austin Kleon, Keep Going

“Creativity is about connection… but it is also about disconnection. You must retreat from the world long enough to think, practice your art, and bring forth something worth sharing with others…. ”

Nicole Gulotta, Wild Words

“When we’re struggling with our work, we’re often caught up in what everyone else is doing, what’s been done. That makes it hard to create, to listen in… Once I stopped checking Instagram so much and reminded myself I’m the only one who can tell my story, it became easier."

Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird

“Shitty first drafts. All good writers write them. This is how they end up with good second drafts and terrific third drafts.”

Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

“When we say we can’t do something, what we mean is that we won’t do something unless we can guarantee that we’ll do it perfectly.”

By Dan Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

Whoa… mind-blowing stuff, eh?

Some are inspirational, some are tough love and some will call you on your crap, but do it, set yourself up for success with an Inspiration Station, a Bliss Station, an Arsenal of Inspiration — and don’t forget to add music.

I’ll leave you with this.

I was a blocked creative. A born writer who’d been tricked as a young man into silencing my authentic voice because it interfered in what parents, teachers, church and society wanted me to be, wanted me to say.

I was visiting a friend in Portland in my early 30s and I saw this Marianne Williamson quote on his refrigerator… and I got a lump in my throat and almost started crying. (I am not a cryer, or I at least wasn’t then). But it reached into my soul and hit me emotionally because it called out where I was most stuck, and that I’d been hiding, to please others.

Many of you will have heard it before, but it bears repeating if you’re stuck:

“Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.”

Yep, she called me out. And now I’m ready to share my authentic self.

The world is waiting for your unique voice.

Keep inspiration nearby, and hop to it!

Thanks for reading words written by a human for humans. This piece was originally published on Medium.com.

ResourcesVocalInspirationGuidesCommunityAdvice
Like

About the Creator

Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!!

Joe Guay is a recovering people-pleaser who writes on Travel, Showbiz, LGBTQ life, humor and the general inanities of life. He aims to be "the poor man's" David Sedaris. You're welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.