Writers logo

News Worthy Influenced Writing

As Submitted To The 'Writers' Challenge

By Marc OBrienPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Creative writing assignments are wonderful homework exercises unless you allow a parent into the private conversation. Back in grammar school when I brought books like “Black Sunday” and “The Fifth Horseman” into class for the USSR program, better known as unsustain silent reading where forty-five noiseless minutes, everyone read, and the activity demonstrated news influenced my intellectual foundation.

Once during an elementary sixth grade learning endeavor, we were asked to concoct a story and I conjured mine up from the New York headlines. Real life tabloids reported, a honeymoon couple had their car stolen and Mayor Ed Koch gave the tourists the key to the city. Later it was found out the two love birds were wanted in another state.

I took this publicized incident that gained attention, changed a few details, in my version there was a car illegally valeted but I made the date New Year’s Eve. Following the theft, the driver drove through Times Square creating destruction and mayhem, turning a nice simple project into a thrilling experience.

After the pencil story telling was complete, I handed it over to my father to proofread. Funny thing happened, instead of using the word ‘car’ I wrote a reference using the Peter Benchley novel ‘Jaws’, ‘shark’. This simple mental mistake forced me to go back and rewrite the piece, only for my father to find more errors.

Next day following burning the midnight oil, I handed the paper in and received an “A”, and my teacher, Mr. Eyles told me I was an author. Years later as a graduating soon junior I was introduced to the stage when drama class and club taught me basic performing art instruction. This not only allowed me to learn character building but respect the ‘interpretive distractive musical song and dance message’.

Soon university or college journalism showed me a different way to communicate, and this formed my structured non descriptive style, getting straight to the point. Being well versed in differing between fact, fiction, opinion and marketing advertisement also assisted in spinning strong entertaining tales, distancing myself from hunting out the truth, and taking this route should spark conversation, letting peaceful closure to hopefully evolve.

When America’s premier vacation desert oasis needed population, I left the northeast and soon discovered other independent options. Returning to fiction I produced a work that looks like a children’s book, “Peter The Peteeatrick Panda’s Playground” and other self-published endeavors while turning my teenage dream into an unpublished manuscript reality, “The Ultimate Conflict” along with the little bit more mature account that has to do with being alive, “The Final Fence”.

Recently, I revisited my adolescent high school roots, spending time distributing sensitive information using the short/flash fiction format. As for the rewrite issue, the computer eased the process through its Microsoft word program transitioning editing these newspaper sized entries into a therapeutic, relaxing experience when pushing the ‘immersive reading’ icon creates a soothing environment. Not only has this assisted me in hearing my thoughts but makes my writing perfect for presentation.

Another technology benefit, the internet removed ‘rejection frustration’ with publishing websites allowing the artist to simply, cut/paste, generating a formal professional link, changing the electronic scrap paper into a respectable message display. This digital anchor text can be fairly sent out to others interested in the subject matter.

Honestly, nothing has changed between the way I write today and yesterday. Still get visions while I continue weaving from serious to fluffy light, knowing the media may pick it up citing me in their account. This notation explains my ideas and talents to another audience and keeps my name out there, instigating potential contractual work.

With the mass media having a small select source pool requesting theatrics, fiction writing needs to step up and present issues in a way where the reader can interact peacefully during a one-on-one discussion with the pages. This is a friendly path in repairing an injured society needing trust.

Challenge
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.