Writers logo

NEW BOOK NEW BOOK NEW BOOK

(I have a new book out)

By Roderick MakimPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - November 2023
14

Honestly I'm not really sure if this is the appropriate space for this or not, but anyway...for those of you who have enjoyed some of my poems this year, I just published a new book. It is a collection of about 75 or 80 of my favourite poems I wrote during my travels this year around Australia and Asia, including a few that showed up here on Vocal. (I lost count because I kept going back and forth about which ones made the cut or not).

The poems cover a wide variety of subjects, as my particular style of writing poetry is basically to write down as quickly as possible the thoughts and emotions that occurred to me as I saw something, heard something or thought about something. I call it "snapshot poetry" and while I do some small edits here and there, I mostly try to leave it as raw as I can, because the immediacy of the reaction or thought or feeling is really the point of it all.

The book is called The Jungle Waits and if it could be said to have any over-arching theme at all, it would be an examination of the paper-thin margin between humanity and savagery. That covers quite a few poems in the collection, but by no means all of them. There are plenty of other poems that look into themes of love and companionship and all the small moments of joy and pleasure in life that make it livable. I suppose in a way, those moments themselves help to make up that paper-thin margin that humanity relies on so heavily.

Anyway, The Jungle Waits is available in ebook and paperpack on Amazon and if you're interested I'd love for you to read it and leave a review.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CMRZ1MFR

Cheers, and all the best for Christmas and 2024 to come.

Achievements
14

About the Creator

Roderick Makim

Read one too many adventure stories as a child and decided I'd make that my life.

I grew up on a cattle station in the Australian Outback and decided to spend the rest of my life seeing the rest of the world.

For more: www.roderickmakim.com

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Xine Segalas5 months ago

    Congratulations, and best of luck to you with your book!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Congrats on a milestone. It is an encouragement to the rest of us to jump into our dreams and never give up. Kudos on your Top story.

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Congratulations and good luck with the book. I'm going to check out some of the stuff that you've got on here.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    That's an exciting achievement!! Great job and I admire your success 📈

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Ahhh, congratulations!! I am so excited for you! Totally buying this asap! Oh, this is so awesome. 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.