Writers logo

My Zombie Walk With Vocal For 2024

Always Have Time To Pat The Dog!

By C. H. RichardPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
11
My Zombie Walk With Vocal For 2024
Photo by Daniel Lloyd Blunk-Fernández on Unsplash

Every year at Halloween the city I now call home has the streets of downtown blocked off as a hundreds of half dead looking humans show up in to parade the streets. The Zombie walk is a big deal and a quite the spectacle for this midsize city. It is pretty cool to watch those involved dance to Micheal Jackson’s Thriller as they stroll past the library. I, myself have not become a dancing Zombie, but the image has been on my mind when I think about getting through the next year and all that I want to accomplish.

I returned to grad school in September of last year and I’m still trying to work full time. I also want to keep writing for Vocal which is still by far the best writing platform I have found. I want all these things and I do want time to sleep, eat, and pat the dog (which I always have time for as my pup is a cutie!) Some days I really have been the picture of a Zombie walking downtown. Somedays just a Zombie not even walking.

So, this year I want to get ahead of things because I need to keep these balls all in the air and I want to keep as much of my Vocal life going. I have been able to write a few poems and stories in the past few months, but not the volume I was writing previously. I was so bummed when I could not get my mystery story completed for a recent challenge when mystery/thrillers are one of my favorite genres to read and write. Ugh I can’t let that happen again!

Most of my writing now has been for research papers. While interesting it has not allowed me to do anything creative. I miss the opportunity to be creative and when that happens, I feel like I don’t have self-care and when I don’t have self-care, guess what? I become a Zombie! No, I do not want to be a Zombie! I need to write for Vocal. I need to read other creators work on Vocal as the platform has brought me such joy since I joined three years ago. It is such an engaging community with so many talented writers.

So, I am setting some goals, so I keep myself from becoming a Zombie.

My plan first is to support my fellow creators. Each day I will be reading at least one story and one poem. This may not sound like much, but consistency will be key. I have already started doing this and truthfully, I feel a bit better about staying involved with my Vocal friends and finding new creators. I am drawn to reading fiction and poetry but will try to read more of the non-fiction categories. There is something so uplifting when reading a great poem or a great story, it makes you feel like you have just experienced something special. I have felt that so many times with the creators on Vocal.

Now for my own writing I plan to write between one to four stories or poems per month. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but for me consistency is key. I truly admire writers who are writing a poem or a story a day or ten a day, but that is just not in cards for me. I didn’t want to set my goal so low as to say one story per month, but one to four sounds better. If I do more than four than I am a roll, but I don’t see that happening. I am also looking to venture more into non-fiction writing particularly in the History, Wander, and Feast communities as I enjoy the past, travelling and food. However, fiction and poetry remain my favorite genres to write. Anyways it is time to go pet the dog. I wish all my fellow friends and creators on Vocal a Happy Healthy Writing Journey in 2024!

VocalInspirationCommunityChallengeAdvice
11

About the Creator

C. H. Richard

My passion is and has always been writing. I am particularly drawn to writing fiction that has relatable storylines which hopefully keep readers engaged

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a month ago

    Wonderful writing. Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the next year!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Sounds like an exciting yet exhausting season of life! Excited to see what Vocal pieces you cook up for 2024! :)

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Pat the dog, always.

  • Omgggg, I have been a zombie before and it sucks! So sorry that you're experiencing this! 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️ Your goals are very realistic and achievable. I wish you all the best for them. But please always remember to take care of your health and well being, physically and mentally. That always comes first!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I feel this. Not enough hours in the day. Too many balls.

  • I was concerned with the first part of this as you kept talking about things you "need" to do. I wanted to encourage you to be gracious toward yourself & to forgive yourself should you happen to fall a little short in one area or another. But the goals you have set sound reasonable & self-consciously gracious. I applaud you for that & wish you the very best in 2024. Still, remember to cut yourself some slack (especially as work, school, Vocal, or any other deadlines approach). Whether you meet your goals or not, you are a wonderful writer.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Cindy, you are so busy and we don't want you walking around like a Zombie!!! Wishing you all the best in 2024!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.