Writers logo

My “Impossible” Poetry Challenge

The rules and conditions I set myself for these challenges. You can try the, selves and see what you come up with.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
My “Impossible” Poetry Challenge
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

If you want to take part in my poetry challenge here are the general rules I have set.

Rules

  • You can use any word you want. I reccomend trying one with 7+ letters.
  • Only words that can be formed using the original word can be used.
  • Letters can be repeated and reused.
  • The final poem cannot be generated with AI.
  • It’s okay to use sites that generate words with letters.

Sources & Tips

  • I always find it handy to have a good notebook nearby
  • I often use Wordmaker to give me ideas of what words I can use.
  • This site is a good one to use as well.
  • I think this site works the best, because I also like how it gives you a definition.
  • I find that it also helps me list down what letters I can and cannot use.
  • It can be fun trying to do as many forms of poetry you can think off.

Some Examples

Pea potion; a neat pine

It paint pitman too

A pet ate tame too

No moo eat meat too

Oat mint tea time

- An acrostic using only the letters in Onomatopia

Lustra is a rat’s salariat air

Saul’s aura stirs salt as a Sural stair

Alas, as a rat, salt stirs a rat’s lair

Tsar Saul‘s star, Laura lasts as la la air

🇦🇺

Ritual is a liar rat tail’s art

Saul‘s slur stirs salt as a Sural salt star

Alas, as a rat, rust stirs a rat’s art

Tsar Saul’s lust lasts as a tarsal altar

🇦🇺

Austral talaria is a rat’s air

Saul‘s atlas stirs salt as a Sural stair

Alas, as a rat, lust stirs a rat’s lair

Tsar Saul’s rust lasts as la la la la air

🇦🇺

Alas; ultra slur as Tsar Saul’s rust lasts

Alas; ultra salt as Tsar Saul’s lust lasts

- a sonnet using only the letters in Australia

Word Suggestions

Onomatopoeia

Australia

Antidisestablishmentarianism

supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

Extravehicular

Entertaining

imagination

defenestration

Challenge
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Whoaaaa, your example poems are so brilliant! Thank you for the word suggestions and helpful sites. I'll see if Mr Brain comes up with anything!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.