Writers logo

My First Writing

Just to impress...

By Rick BeneteauPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
Like
a mist-shrouded forest

It was a poem. Written in the seventh or eight grade with the sole intention of impressing one or both of the two sisters in my school who I had huge crushes on! But, was I brave enough to somehow share it with them?

I don't possess the document nearly 60 years post writing but I fervently remember it being about a mist-shrouded forest and the beauty contained within it and it closed with something over-the-top positive about the creator of this magical setting - God. Yes, this was a Catholic school where the cloistered catechism teachers pounded into me that I would be destined to suffer eternal damnation in the flames of hell for not loving God with all my heart. So, perhaps I wrote this poem to also try to impress God!

A few years ago, my youngest sister told me she came across the poem while helping our mother sort through her many precious memories. Guess mom thought it was special enough to make that collection. My sister, who has always been a fan of my creations, especially my songs, thought it was magnificent. One thing this creative has learned over the years though is to never, I mean never ever, allow your family and friends to be honest judges of your creations!

Perhaps that poem served as a template for my future creations. I will admit that my writing style to this day has remained vivid, often shrouded in mist and always focused on the beauty in this world.

Now, there's no point having this particular writing meander into anything other than to say I guess I chickened out impressing either of those sisters with my first writing. God, on the other hand, I was taught to believe, sees everything so guess I'll await that verdict!

Challenge
Like

About the Creator

Rick Beneteau

Former 80’s happening songwriter when divorced turned Internet marketing ‘guru’ on the-then-brand-new Internet who in 2006 became co-founder of a humanitarian non-profit who then came full circle back to music – for film and television.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.