Writers logo

My First eBook Has Been Published

'An Honest Guide To Making Money on Medium' is now live on Gumroad.

By Shamar MPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

In 2022, I started an eBook on how to use Medium and had intentions of publishing it on Gumroad, Amazon KDP, etc. However, this went out the window as the consistently dwindled and Medium changed its look. I had to keep going back over my work and change the screenshots, I couldn't keep up.

After approximately 5000 words, it came to my attention that what I was writing about was being published freely by top writers. Damn. Why would someone pay $9.99 when they can get it for free?

It was time for a new eBook idea. But what do I write about?

Back in October 2023, I had breast reduction surgery and was given a recovery period of four weeks out of the office. It would have been an awful idea to spend the entire time of that time in bed, so I decided to spend a vast amount of time writing stories.

Fabulous.

For me, this meant it was a time of rest and recovery but it was also a time for ramping up my productivity levels as I have hardly published on Medium in summer.

My eBook idea only came to me in a dream in my last week of recovery, but it was still an extra five days to type away with no corporate distraction. With a very sore chest, I wouldn't be going to the gym or meeting any friends either.

And that idea I can introduce to you now as 'An Honest Guide To Making Money on Medium' is now live on Gumroad as of 2 January 2024.

An Honest Guide To Making Money On Medium (gumroad.com)

It is what it says on the tin, an honest guide to making money on Medium. I'm not writing about how to make $1000 per month. I'm not telling you how you can make $500 per day on the platform. I'm not telling you how to pay your rent with one article overnight. 

These things only happen to 0.5% - 2% of all active writers.

What I am telling you, is that it's very possible to make money on Medium per month in the tens, hundreds, or thousands and I can help you do it - the honest and simple way. 

Why should you buy this book?

✅ I've been on Medium for just over three years.

✅ I've managed to make thousands from stories and I've managed to make a handful of dollars from stories - I can explain how.

✅ A breakdown of the Medium Partner Programme

✅ Writing Tips

✅ Medium FAQ

✅ And MORE! Click the link to find out more information.

2024 is off to a banging start with my first published eBook. Unfortunately, I do not get a fancy blue badge on my Medium profile unless I publish on Amazon. I'm debating doing that, what have I got to lose (apart from money)?

I'm worried about the lack of marketing I've done and I'm worried about my lack of marketing knowledge. eBook competition is so tough and any Tom, Dick and Harry are publishing content including AI-written content.

Just because I have no sales within one week, doesn't mean I won't have sales in the future. Anyone needs to remain optimistic when releasing a book or eBook because you never know when sales might start to pick up.

Would I do one about Vocal Media too? I guess the option is there, but the audience is much smaller and much less interactive so the sales might be minimal.

I guess you don't know until you try.

Side note: This section is completely irrelevant, I just needed to add some extra words to meet the 600-word eligibility criteria. Vocal Media needs to get rid of this...

CommunityResourcesPublishingInspirationGuidesAchievements
Like

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.