Writers logo

My aspirations for Vocal

"The best way to predict your future is to create it." Peter Drucker

By Christian BassPublished 6 months ago 5 min read
My aspirations for Vocal
Photo by AbsolutVision on Unsplash

New Year’s Resolution obviously aren’t made for me. But there are certain things on my bucketlist for 2024. And on top of the list is the change of name. I do hope that the old fanbase will follow me, however, the last decade with all the bad advises and the escape into my privacy might have cost me big parts of the loyal fanbase I had.

I suppose, I have to start from the beginning again. And that is where vocal comes in. Even though I have this account for two years now, I hardly used it, so I am not able to say how anything there shaped my goals for this year. But that will change, since this platform is a key factor in rebuilding my life.

I am really looking forward to spend more time in a writing community, hopefully without all the negative aspects I had before. Since 2024 already has started, the changes are already beginning. And I have to confess, I love reading other authors creation on vocal, especial while drinking my morning coffee. I guess, it will take some time, until the new morning routine is settled, but I am on a good way to get it done.

“Education is the passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to those who prepare for it today.” - Malcom X

Since the platform and all its possibilities are still new to me, it will take more time to discover everthing. However, I hope that I can bring in my experience as a published author and help other to accomplish their dream. I love being surrounded by aspiring authors and creators and really looking forward to be part of such a community.

For the first time I use an English language platform that is not just only created for poetry, and I hope I can benefit from it, like developing my English skills. There are always opportunities to become a better writer.

Another great aspect are the challenges, that will take us out of our comfort zone. There are new topics, new genres to explore and each of these challenges will give us a chance to master new skills. This text is the best prove of it. It completely took me out of my comfort zone, made me think about how to write it and most of all, it helped me to set a goal for everyone to see. Something I never have done before.

Even this challenge has shown me, that 2024 will be another Turning Point in my life and sets sails towards a new, a better future. What started in my private life, will also conquer my writing life now. And I am really looking forward to see what new skills, what new contacts this future will bring.

Some side-effects of vocals are already have shaped my life. I found a new platform for poetry, simply to learn what forms are there and how to write it. I will explore them all. Especially since I still can remember well how much fun I had to write the Villanelle and the Diminishing Poem, that I would never have done without vocal. Every step I do, every creation I do, will bring something new into my life.

“The past is your lesson. The present is your gift. The future is your motivation.” - Anonymous

Already back in December I started to write more frequently to create new content for vocal. My writing routine slowly shifts from German towards English. And I hope, I will find to finish the unfinished short stories now. At least there are three stories I started to write in Mauritius but never finished them because the German career became time consuming. As much as I loved it, I also felt pity that my fiancé could not read anything I wrote. That relationship ended under the stress that came with the career but my wish that my partner and now future husband can read what I write is still there. And I know, vocal will help to shape my skills and since it is in English, he will be able to read everything.

Not only since “The troublemaker” became a top story, I hope to finally find the time and the strength to finally finish the story. When I started to write it, it was part of a much bigger concept, less a novel and more a collection of short stories about a collection of different kids at the same location during the same time. For the first time I took “Children of Summer” out of its box and started to think about finishing it. And Vocal will be a great platform to do so. The planing is not yet finished but my mind already plays with the idea to bring out a new story once a month.

I slowly start to build a daily writing routine, using vocal to keep me focused and determined. And as my experience tells me, I also will use it as an inspiration for new projects.

“Do not let the shadows of your past darken the doorstep of your future.” - Anonymous

During the last weeks, ever since I use Vocal frequently I started to see certain things I do miss. Maybe I haven’t found them yet, else it would be nice, to get them in the future. There is no chat function, and it would be nice to contact some of the other creators in private to discuss common projects etc. It would open a new world to all of us, when such things could become part of the community.

I know it is a lot of work, especially since some legal stuff has to be solved, too, but it would be nice when the Vocal Shop could get another section where all the published books from the vocal creators can be found.

Since I write a lot of poetry and normally write it on my mobile phone, it would be nice to use the app to upload it as well. I use a MacBook and an iPhone so it is easy to upload as it is right now, but for those who don’t use apple it can be a challenge.

So, I hope and I am certain, that 2024 will be a great year for all of us here on Vocal and I am really looking forward to explore all the creations and opportunities.

“You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life.” - Steve Jobs

VocalCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Christian Bass

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Test5 months ago

    Wow, this is powerful.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    You have a lot going on, and I hope it works out for you!

Christian BassWritten by Christian Bass

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.