Writers logo

Musings and Advice

2000 reads

By Mother CombsPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
13

I broke 2,000 reads overnight. Yippee!!

It’s taken me over 290 stories to reach this number, with about 95 subscribers. I have put a lot of work into each of these stories. Most of these reads came from the last thirty days. I have been a member of Vocal since July of 2021, but I have only written for less than six months total during this time.

Here are some thoughts I have had since reaching 2,000 reads that I would like to share with everyone.

  • I would never have been able to make it this far without the support of the Vocal Writer Community.
  • The Writing Community is the friendliest community I have ever been involved in.
  • I still get excited seeing one of my articles selected as Top Story. I don’t think that will ever end.
  • I get more excited seeing the total reads increasing daily. It’s a great feeling.
  • The rescue, Tiger Shoe, that my daughter brought home sounds like a giant dog running through the house. He’s always running.
  • One chick is easier to clean up after than ten chicks. Do I need to say more?
  • My dishes do not wash themselves, no matter how much I wish they would.
  • Writing does not get easier; you just get more fluent.
  • Maybe one word-of-the-day subscription isn’t enough.
  • Plagiarists are assholes. It is enough said.

I’ve also learned a few things about myself I will share with everyone.

  • I am a better writer than I thought. I am not the best writer, nowhere near, but I am pretty decent. I still have a long way to go to be considered a great writer.
  • I like the Merriam–Webster dictionary app the best of all the ones I tried. It has games!!!
  • I should have read more books and a greater variety than I did. Instead, I stuck to the classics, horror, and science fiction. Nonfiction bored me; poems were above my head as a young adult.
  • I watch too much television. Way too much.
  • I have remembered more about creative writing than I thought.
  • Writing is an addiction, as is Vocal. I can’t seem to stay away from either, and I do not want to get better.
  • I’ve figured out how to put permalinks into my articles. Yay, me!!

I also have advice to give anyone just starting on Vocal if they want to hear it.

  1. Write for the joy of writing. Don’t worry about readers; readers will come to you.
  2. Don’t worry about the total reads so much in the beginning. The numbers will build the better your writing is.
  3. Writing is challenging. It’s not easy.
  4. Improve your vocabulary. Subscribe to a word-of-the-day service.
  5. Feel free to try something new with your writing. Trying new writing styles is how you grow as a writer.
  6. Put your heart into your writing. The more you do, the better your articles will be.
  7. Read the Resource Section on Vocal. Some great prompts are hidden there.
  8. To succeed, you must network. Follow other creators and read their articles. The more you read of other’s articles, the more the favor will be returned.
  9. Make friends. Communicate. Join Facebook groups Like Vocal+Assist, Vocal Creators Lounge, or Vocal Social Society.
  10. Follow these five Vocal Creators for great advice and explanations: Judey Kalchik, Ashley Lima, Cendrine Marrouat, Mike Singleton - Mikeydred, and Rick Henry Christopher.

These are just some things that have been going through my mind. I hope my musings and advice help someone. Or they just make you smile. Either way, I have succeeded in doing what I set out to do.

Thanks for reading.

Happy Writing.

AchievementsShoutoutAdvice
13

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    This is really inspirational, Mother Combs, not least of all because I already do most of what you advise here! It makes me feel like I just need to keep writing and be patient. Thanks for posting this!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on 2000 reads! That's awesomeeee! I love all the tips you've given!

  • Ariel Joseph8 months ago

    Congrats on 2000 reads! I am downloading the merriam webster app right now, I want to see these games lol

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    I love how you've mixed random facts with handy tips 😁

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    You’re not just decent, you’re a GREAT writer! Glad you’re a part of this community. Congrats on the milestone!

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    Love this and great advice! Keep plugging along and I'll keep supporting.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Congrats on 2k reads! That is so exciting! I love when I see a post from you for sure! What word of the day subscription should I use???? That’s a fabulous idea!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Congratulations! And great advice!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.