Writers logo

Letters of Love Lost

You discover a 1940s love letter box in the attic while renovating an old house.

By zahid ahmedPublished 3 days ago 4 min read

You discover a 1940s love letter box in the attic while renovating an old house.

Emma looked around the old house she had just bought as she wiped the dust from her hands. Spider webs hung in the corners, and light emissions separated through the little, foul window. She had gone through the most recent couple of hours figuring out many years of failing to remember possessions, everything recounting an account of the past tenants. In the far corner, an aged wooden chest caught her attention. Captivated, she advanced over and painstakingly pried it open. Inside, underneath a layer of yellowed trim and old photos, was a little box attached with a blurred blue lace. The envelopes, each addressed to a "Margaret Dawson," were exposed when Emma untied the ribbon and gently lifted it out. The dates in the letters went from 1942 to 1945. With a combination of fervor and interest, Emma started to peruse.

The initial letter was written on June 3, 1942.

My Dearest Margaret,

I trust that this letter thinks that you are well. The days here are long, and the evenings considerably longer, however, considerations of you move me along. More than words can express, I miss you. I remember our last dance, how you laughed as the music stopped, and how you looked at me as if we had all the time in the world every day. This war is something horrendous, but it has provided me with motivation. I battle for our future and for the day I can get back to you. Kindly keep me in your requests, as I keep you in mine.

Always yours

James

Emma felt a sense of foreboding deep in her soul as she read the genuine words. She could nearly picture the youthful couple, destroyed by the conflict but bound together by adoration. She read letter after letter as James talked about his experiences on the front lines and how much he loved Margaret.

15 November 1942:

Margaret, my dear,

I was moved to tears when I read your most recent letter. Realizing that you are sitting tight for me invigorates me. The circumstances here are cruel, however, the prospect of you makes me feel great inside. I long for the day when we can reunite and create the life we've always talked about. I've seen things that I want to neglect, yet your letters are an encouraging sign in this haziness. I vow to return to you, regardless of the stuff.

With all my love,

James.

As Emma read on, she could see the cost the conflict was taking on James, but his adoration for Margaret stayed steadfast. His letters discussed fights and confidants lost, but they consistently finished with trust and love.

Then, she arrived at the last letter, dated May 8, 1945.

Margaret, my dear,

The conflict is finished. It's hard to believe. Before long, I will be on a boat going to you. These previous years have been amazing, yet realizing that you were sitting tight for me has made a big difference for me. I long to one day be able to hold you once more, dance with you under the stars, and never let go of you. On the 15th, please meet me at the train station. I can hardly hold back to see your delightful face.

All my love,

James.

Emma felt tears gushing in her eyes as she read the last letter. She pondered James and Margaret's fate and wondered if they had reunited and realized their goals together. She chose to find out. Throughout the following couple of weeks, Emma dug into the historical backdrop of the house and its past proprietors.

She found that Margaret Dawson had resided in the house until her death in 1985. There was no evidence that James had returned, and she had never been married. Emma went to the local library and looked through old newspapers, determined to learn more. She came across a May 15, 1945, article that talked about a train accident that had happened on the day James was supposed to return. That train carried a number of soldiers, many of whom perished.

Emma's heart hurt for Margaret, who had hung tight to no end for her adored James. She understood that the affection letters were all Margaret had left of him, a demonstration of an adoration that had persevered through even despite impossible difficulty.

Emma chose to respect their romantic tale. She put the letters back in the case and showed them conspicuously in her home. She imparted the story to loved ones, guaranteeing that James and Margaret's adoration could never be neglected. As it were, Emma felt that she had turned into a piece of their story, a gatekeeper of their adoration. She silently thanked James and Margaret for demonstrating to her the true meaning of love and sacrifice as she gazed out the attic window at the setting sun.

Life

About the Creator

zahid ahmed

I am a dedicated content writer with a passion for crafting compelling and engaging narratives. With a keen eye for detail and a deep understanding of the digital landscape, I bring ideas to life through words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    zahid ahmedWritten by zahid ahmed

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.