Writers logo

If You're a Writer There Should Be a Notebook by Your Bedside

One of the best pieces of writing advice I have been given

By Elise L. BlakePublished 5 months ago 3 min read
If You're a Writer There Should Be a Notebook by Your Bedside
Photo by Ashley West Edwards on Unsplash

There is some advice that when it is given to a writer it leaves them scratching their head as to what it could mean and why someone would go out of their way to tell them something so strange. 

Well, that's how I felt when one of my creative writing teachers told me that one of the best practices I could adopt as a writer was to put a notebook beside my bed and never go a night without it there. 

Well almost 10 years later I've done as he said and it's made a world of difference so now it's time for me to pass this advice on to you.

If you're a writer, there should be a notebook beside your bed.

Most writers know that story ideas can come anywhere at any time. While walking to work, cooking dinner, taking a relaxing shower, and the worst one yet - just as they are about to fade off into the land of dreams and have a good night's sleep. 

There's no need for you to have to jump out of bed and fumble around in the dark or turn on an overly bright light, ruining all chances of going back to your previous state of rest - or worse ruining the rest of your partner or roommate. A notebook by your bedside is the perfect companion for these late-night thoughts. 

This notebook doesn't have to be anything fancy, chances are you already have one lying around just waiting for the opportunity to use it. Or any cheap notebook will do even if it's one you got in a back-to-school sale and it has some cartoon characters on it that you have never heard of. 

You also don't need to spend an extraordinary amount on writing supplies, just a simple pencil or pen that you will be able to scribble your ideas down with, but at the minimum a pen that won't spit ink all over your sheets.  

Even these ideas don't have to be anything clean, fancy, or perfect - one of my favorite routines is waking up in the morning, grabbing my notebook, and rating myself on how close to the lines I was since most of the time I don't bother to turn on a light (or open my eyes) when scribbling these late night ideas.

Last night I managed to write sideways on the page - but it was sort of straight so I gave myself a 6/10. 

Keeping a notebook by your bedside is also a great way to get into the habit of writing down things about your day and things you may need to get done during the next one. This process of late-night unwinding can help improve your sleep by getting you off of your phone and letting all of your thoughts be set aside until the morning. 

If anything it never hurts to give it a try or to keep one beside your bed just in case of that one day where an idea strikes you and you want to commit it to paper as soon as you can before it begins to slip away. 

Best of luck! 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

Want to write with me live? I'm now on Twitch! Come join me in some writing sprints most days at 10:30 pm EST

____________________________________________________

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

_____________________________________________

This story was originally posted on Medium. Join Medium as a member for just $5/month to access premium content and help me continue creating articles like these. You can also earn money by posting your own stories using Mediums' Partner Program.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1. Your support keeps my creativity brewing. Treat me to a cup! ☕

Thanks for your support and happy writing!

GuidesInspirationCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    Excellent tip! I use the notebook in my phone.

Elise L. BlakeWritten by Elise L. Blake

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.