Writers logo

I Don't Want To Write A Poem

But I Do Want to Write

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published 30 days ago 1 min read
Some Old Notes

Introduction

I always want to write and I feel that if I don't write then something is missing, but sometimes I know I could create a poem or micro fiction but my Devil tells me I am just being lazy and not putting any effort into creating something worthwhile. Today is one of those days.

Vocal Has Forty-Eight Communities To Choose From

I have posted a story in every Vocal Community and am unaware of any other Creator who has done that and we cover all communities (four each week) in The Vocal Social Society Community Adventure which you can read about here:

This gives us forty-eight areas to begin your writing. You can add to this the Vocal Resources that give you ideas for stories and poems that you can find here.

Then there are the Vocal Challenges that may give you an idea and they reside here:

Added to that we have the Unofficial Challenges and we try and collect those on monthly threads in the Vocal Social Society and here is the one for June 2024:

And although I said I don't want to write a poem, I have just shared a lot of ideas and links which may help kickstart your creative juices.

I have many ways of getting inspired, but I do like seeing words appear on screen as I type, being knitted, hopefully, into a story worth reading.

At times I know there are so many options, and paths to take that they sometimes almost cancel each other out. Bruce Springsteen wrote a great song called "57 Channels (And Nothing On)" and sometimes there is so much choice but nothing really hits the target.

I have shared some fiction, and a little poetry at the weekend, but sometimes I like to just write about writing, which is what this is.

Conclusion

I hope this has given you a few ideas, I am still wondering whether to metaphorically put pen to paper, but maybe I will just go out for a walk or watch some tV.

Thank you so much for reading.

VocalShoutoutResourcesProcessLifeInspirationGuidesCommunityChallengeAdvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Shaun Walters28 days ago

    I feel like I’ve gotten more info on vocal from you than from Vocal

  • Shirley Belk29 days ago

    Interesting info

  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    Having just wrapped the microfiction unofficial challenge, I feel happy but a bit drained so I'm not feeling like writing at the moment either. I know it'll come bounding back momentarily, but for this moment, I'm thoroughly enjoying reading! Enjoyed your article

  • I wonder when are they gonna launch the new communities though. It seems like forever

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.