Writers logo

How To View Success As A Writer

Relative, Subjective and Uncountable

By Adam EvansonPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
How To View Success As A Writer
Photo by Majestic Lukas on Unsplash

Success is a highly subjective and relative word. It all depends on the person and what it is you are talking about. So let me ask you a question.

How do you measure success here on Vocal Media?

Is it how much money you can earn? What about how many reads, subscribers and nice positive comments? Or what about how many friends you can make, how many people you can reach out to and touch?

You will notice that these are all countable nouns. But how do you count things like learning and personal and professional development? What about the inspiration, creativity and satisfaction? And let us not forget the mental, emotional, psychological and spiritual fulfilment. A bit of a tricky one that is, huh?

The stone-cold fact of the matter is that it is all part of a very vibrant mix. And, as a result, sometimes it can be oh so easy to lose sight of what it is you are looking for or what you expect.

And another question is, how high do you set the bar? Set it too high and you could be in for a very long period of frustration and disappointment and lose motivation. Set it too low and you could get lazy and bored and suffer poor motivation.

Personally, I’m in it for the sheer joy of participating in a wonderfully, highly creative project, another man’s dream.

It is the uncountable things that will add bright new colours and vibrant textures to your life. These are the things that will enhance your life and enrich your writings.

For the moment at least, I am in it for the uncountable stuff. That may or may not change at some time in the future, though I seriously doubt it. I’m a leopard, and if there is one thing I know about that animal it is that it very rarely changes its spots. Make that never.

Yes, of course, I have an interest in all the countable stuff, and yes a little extra moolah would come in very handy indeed. I have a very small pension (not nearly as much as I would like or need) which just about pays the rent and one or two shopping trips. My lovely wife works very hard to keep us afloat. But we are solvent and deliriously happy with all the truly awesome things we have in our lives, like the mutual love that we have for each other. It is all a matter of priorities, and I believe my wife and I have got it just about right.

On top of that, we have our health, more or less. I could tell you all about the niggling chronic health issues we have, my wife’s lumbago, my PMR, but what’s the point in focussing on negative things? They are chronic but none life-threatening and well under control with medication. Overall we both feel truly blessed to be alive and well and madly passionately in love. What’s more, we have a good standard of living. And that is my measure of success, on or off Vocal Media.

My advice is to get stuck in, have a great time doing it and get out of it what you can in the uncountable department. That account will always be in credit. It’s the uncountable stuff that you can never run out of and nobody can take away from you.

My personal take on the countable stuff is that in the long run, if you stick at it, develop your craft and grow your network of followers, the countable stuff will come in. Constancy is key. If you take a look at your stats and whatever money you make, you should see that there is a direct correlation. It is, from what I can see, a slow burn, but you will get there in the end with compound interest.

Meanwhile, be thankful for what you have got, rather than lament what you haven’t. Forge ahead with your development and personal growth and you won't go far wrong.

Advice

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    This was a very good way to put it and I couldn't have said it better. I'm truly grateful for what I have!

Adam EvansonWritten by Adam Evanson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.