Writers logo

How I Learned to Find Joy in Summer's Simple Pleasures

The Magic of Sunkissed moments.

By Kelley RoulandPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
How I Learned to Find Joy in Summer's Simple Pleasures
Photo by todd kent on Unsplash

I was never a fan of summer. The record-breaking, stifling hot temperatures that come with this time of year were the bane of my existence. But, as I’ve grown older, I’ve learned that there is beauty in every season and summer is no exception.

These days, instead of cringing when the warm season arrives, I welcome it with open arms because some of the most heartwarming, blissful memories happen under the soul-soothing summer sun. Here are a few of my favorites:

Morning walks with my dog Miss Charlie are always joyful, but there is something extra special about our summer strolls. As soon as the sun rises the furry one awakes. “Let’s go, Mom!” Miss Charlie says with her wagging tale and smothering kisses. Within minutes, we are out the door heading to our favorite trail.

Miss Charlie's heart of wanderlust is delighted as she takes in the sights, sounds, and smells of the world around us. The golden rays of sunlight shine through the glistening trees while birds sing, ants march, and bugs of every shape and size scurry across the dusty path ahead. It’s Mother Nature’s symphony in perfect harmony.

At last, we are home. Weary from our outdoor adventure Miss Charlie decides it’s time for a nap. She takes her favorite toy and heads to the backyard where a patch of cool dirt awaits her. This spot is perfect for slumbering under the warm sunshine.

Flower garden meditation is one of my favorite traditions. Every summer I sit under the golden sunlight, close my eyes, and become one with the universe. Birds sing while fragrant scents of roses, lavender, and peonies bring peace and remind me that all is well.

During these moments of solitude, my cares and worries float away while calm washes over me. I feel gratitude for all that life brings: my loving family, good friends, and a warm comfortable home. I feel abundant and complete. The beauty of the world encompasses me.

Every summer I am called to work the soil. The scents and sounds of the garden dancing with the warm summer wind twirling in and out of the rustling leaves are perfectly orchestrated. It reminds me of gardening with my grandma as a little girl.

This place is my sanctuary. Golden rays of sunshine spill from the sky while the garden comes to life. The robust green aroma of rosemary dances in time with the warm and earthy scent of sage intertwined with the sweet grassy smell of tomatoes. The rich decadent soil is cool to the touch while the sunshine warms my face and my heart is happy.

Sun-soaked drives through the Colorado countryside with my husband are also close to my heart. The world seems to stop and worries disappear on these peaceful journeys. Our time together is full of sparkling conversation, laughter, and breathtaking scenery.

The brilliant blue sky blankets the earth while the majestic mountains pull us closer with each passing moment. We’re surrounded by vast fields of golden grasses sprinkled with wildflowers in every shade imaginable, all competing for the sun yet bending to the will of the warm summer breeze. The experience is nothing short of miraculous.

Late evening dinners on the back porch are heartwarming blissful times of pure family joy in the summer. On his journey to rest the sun paints brush strokes of red and gold across the deep blue sky while crickets begin their nightly chorus.

The fragrant scent of the garden frolics throughout the air while laughter fills the atmosphere and delicious food adorns the dinner table. As moonlight appears, our happy souls delight in another day well lived. And just like the summer sun, it’s time to rest.

With every passing year, there are moments to cherish. The universe showers us with blessings, and it’s up to us to embrace each of them. Challenges may appear, but there is beauty amid these difficult seasons and reasons to celebrate.

These days instead of complaining about the summer heat, I soak up these little treasures I’m gifted with: the beauty of this earth, the love of my family, and the pure joy of being alive. What magical sunshine moments are you looking forward to this summer?

“Keep your face to the sunshine and you cannot see the shadows. It’s what the sunflowers do.” ~ Helen Keller

This story was originally published by the author on medium.com.

LifeVocalInspiration

About the Creator

Kelley Rouland

I am a passionate writer with experience in educational writing, news writing, content writing, and fiction. I have written research papers during graduate school and spent more the 7 years writing news scripts for a radio station.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelley RoulandWritten by Kelley Rouland

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.