Writers logo

How do I Come up With a Story

A Look Inside the Inner Workings of My Mind

By Mother CombsPublished 7 months ago 3 min read

“How do you come up with your ideas?”

“You have such a great imagination; how do you do it?”

“Your story goes with your picture so well. How’d you find a picture to match it so well?”

These are all questions I’ve been asked by several of my readers, and being bored and in between writings, I thought I would answer the questions. The answers are pretty straightforward and may or may not surprise some of you.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

The first thing I do when writing a story is look through pictures. I look till I find one that inspires me, and then I decide if I can make a story or poem out of it. Sometimes, a picture inspires the words, but I must find an image differently.

The story or poem seldom comes to me before I find a picture, but I can generally find a satisfactory image when it does.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** The places I look for inspiration are:

  • Pixabay
  • Unsplash
  • Pexels
  • Domain Free Images
  • Copyright Free Images
  • Facebook Vocal group challenge posts

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** Or I create what I want:

  • Nightcafe creations
  • Free Word Cloud Generator
  • Goggle Edit / Text Tool

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

When I find a picture that inspires me, I immediately save it to the draft page on Vocal. Then, I wait for a story to come to me. Usually, I have a general idea of how I want a story to go from what is in the pictures. Once that general idea is hammered out, the rest of a fiction story or a poem is easy. It’s taken me anywhere from thirty minutes to three weeks to fine-tune a tale or poem to the point where I am happy enough to submit it on Vocal.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

If the picture just inspires a story but is not worthy of having a narrative made of it OR if I come up with a story before I even look for a picture, that’s when I create my own. Out of all the AI-generated art, Nightcafe Creation is my favorite to use. It’s easier, and I can get what I want with just a few tweaks of the wording. I created what I wanted with the Free Word Cloud in a few instances or edited a background photo from Pixabay with text.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

That’s it. That’s all I do– a straightforward process. My creativity depends on what is in a picture—nothing to it. Anyone can tell a story this way.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Nightcafe creation

Stories lined all up in a row

Stacked two to three high

All waiting to be told

All waiting to be read

Words gathered in groups

Piled into paragraphs

And stanzas

All vying to be written

All wanting out of my imagination

Just these old tales in my head

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Writer's BlockVocalResourcesPromptsProcessLifeInspirationCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Kenneth Lawson7 months ago

    My Monthly stories are loosely based on the picture prompt from WritersUnited! FB group which I'm a part of. If you've read any of my stories, you know I can go pretty much anyplace from there. Generally speaking, I have no clear idea of what the story is when I start. I take either the picture as a whole or most of the time, an element of it and work it into a story. Sometimes it's a brief mention of an element or the subject of the picture. Just barely enough to tie the story to the picture. Sometimes I build a whole story around the picture as a whole. Oftentimes, I've worked a mention of the picture or an element of it in as an afterthought just to make it work with the picture. As for the story itself, I keep a file cabinet full of ideas hidden away and pull from them as needed. THats BS. There is no file cabinet. Sometimes I wish there was. I build my stories one paragraph after another each building on the ones before it. I have a name for my process, It is called "The Next Logical Scene." In other words, what is the next logical thing the characters should do after the events in a scene? Most of the time, write what should happen, But once in a while have them exactly the opposite of what they should, and keep building from that as you go.

  • L.C. Schäfer7 months ago

    Stories often come from images for me, but not pictures I've gone looking for. Ones that jump out at me and bite me. Could be a snatch of something I see or hear anywhere. Usually visual though. Actually finding the picture to go with the story for Vocal is normally the last step.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    That's so interesting, that you start with a picture! That's usually the last bit for me!

  • I'm the complete opposite. I always write the story first and then find the picture. Also, I have never been inspired by any picture before. Like I'm not someone who can be inspired visually. In fact, nothing inspires me. It's just me and Mr Brain, lol. I'm so amazed at how pictures inspire your stories and poems. You're so brilliant!

  • Rene Peters7 months ago

    I wish I could write like that.

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    Cool process. I’m usually the opposite: a story comes to me first and then I create a picture for it.

Mother CombsWritten by Mother Combs

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.