Writers logo

Gothic Story Winners!

Consider reading them yourselves

By Kenny PennPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
Gothic Story Winners!
Photo by Marko Blažević on Unsplash

Last month, I created one of my own unofficial contests here on Vocal. The 'Gothic Stories' challenge garnered quite a few entries. Reading them all was a real pleasure, not least because I got to read stories from a few "new" writers I hadn't been exposed to. All the submissions were good, and picking the winners wasn't easy. Thank you so much to everyone who left me a story to read! I truly appreciate you getting involved and making this one of my happiest experiences on this platform.

Without further ado, here are the challenge winners:

Third Place

My second runner-up goes to D.K. Shepard for their story, 'Indulgences.' The story is about Andrew, a boy with a rather unfortunate past and a lively painting in his bedroom. D.K.'s story has a classic British feel for the setting and a darkly creepy antagonist. Throw in a melancholic protagonist and an overbearing/malignant stepfather, and you have a recipe for a great gothic tale! D.K.'s story is linked below. If you haven't already, go read it and show them some well-deserved love!

Second Place

My first runner-up goes to D.J. Reddall for their story, 'Bid Him Welcome.' The story is about a young woman and her compadres dealing with some very unsavory men. D.J.'s story has a beautiful medieval setting and two fantastic supporting characters that alone make this story well worth the read. The coven-like group of women and anti-pagan attitudes from the antagonists really add spice to this gothic story. The ending is so satisfying it should come with a cigarette and a nice long nap. D.J.'s story is linked below. If you haven't already, go read it and show them some love!

The Winner

In first place, I've chosen Hannah Moore for her darkly beautiful story, 'Alice'. This story is about a young woman with a love for books who ends up marrying a man with questionable morals. Little by little, Hannah reveals the small, puzzling, dark details that raise goosebumps on your arms, leading to a conclusion that will make your hair stand on end. Her descriptive setting is fantastic and genuinely captures the gothic vibe. Check out these impressive lines from one of her paragraphs: "I saw the house first from the driveway. The moon was high and full, and the steeply gabled turrets stood like guardians above the lamp lit veranda, beckoning visitors with a welcoming glow." Hannah's story is linked below. If you haven't read it already, you should! Go give it a read and show her some love!

Honorable Mention

I had to include a fantastic poem, ' Another Raven, ' submitted to the challenge by Mike Singleton—Mikeydred. Although the poem was published a couple of years ago, I have never had a chance to read it. Let me tell you, it's incredible. I don't know if I've ever seen a better tribute to the late Edgar Allen Poe. Just like the original, this poem tells a beautiful story with engaging characters. You can check it out below.

As promised, I will tip the winner $30, and the runners-up will each receive $10. Again, I'd like to thank everyone who submitted a story to my challenge. You all made it a great success. I loved reading them, and I hope you all continue to write until you're old and gray.

My next challenge will be in mid-July unless our friends at Vocal beat me to it. It will be poetry-focused, specifically Haiku. If you'd like a hint (and to get a head start on it), check out this link, which describes a Haikuplet chain.

ShoutoutPromptsCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Kenny Penn

Thanks for reading! I enjoy writing in various genres, my favorites being horror/thriller and dark/epic fantasies. I'll also occasionally drop a poem or two.

For a list of all my work, and to connect with me, go to www.kennypenn.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Dana Crandell12 days ago

    Congratulations, winners!

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    I am not surprised by the choices! Congrats to the fabby Ms Moore, DJ and DK, and Mike too. Well done to you Kenny for putting it together and yeah! This was a good one.

  • Wooohooooo congratulations DK, DJ, Hannah and Mike! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • D. J. Reddall13 days ago

    Congratulations to all and warmest thanks and praise to Kenny for devising this challenge and generously acknowledging my humble effort!

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Congrats!! I didn’t enter but read some of the entries and enjoyed them!!❣️

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    Woohoo! Thank you so much! I loved doing this - a whole new challenge for me and kind of addictive, I found I wanted to do another (but had no time...). Congratulations to everyone all the entrants, and thank you Kenny for a great time!

  • Christy Munson13 days ago

    Congratulations to all the winners! Excellent stories, one and all! 🥳🙌🥂 Thanks again, Kenny, for a great challenge.

  • D.K. Shepard13 days ago

    Wow!! I’m thrilled to have gotten an honorable mention! A great challenge and amazing stories! Thank you for hosting, Kenny! It was an absolute blast!

  • Matthew Fromm13 days ago

    Great challenge and congrats to all the winners

  • angela hepworth13 days ago

    Congratulations everybody!!

Kenny PennWritten by Kenny Penn

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.