Writers logo

Getting Away From The Noise

Setting the Scene

By Kristen UlrichPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
My Painting

Within the past year, I have learned how to paint through paint classes. My Aunt taught me how to paint this painting last month. She is an artist.

This painting of the beach got me thinking. Why do we go to the beach? Is it just because it’s hot and we need to cool down? The beach symbolizes tranquility, and being present. We need to be more present in our everyday lives, just like we are at the beach. Listening to the white noise of the waves, feeling the sand between our toes, watching the sunset. Listen to nature!

I’ve spent too much time checking websites such as Facebook for comments. This world is filled with technology that is oh-so-helpful, but also deterimental. Everything is the rat race! So now I ask you, please be present!

Vaguely I remember the days before the Internet. I was nine when we got our first real computer with Internet. It was love at first sight. But anyway, before then the world was a little bit slower. I don’t mean dumber. I mean slower-paced. It was more peaceful. More boring, but more peaceful.

Do I want to go back to a world that lacks GPSs? No. But it is nice to take a break from it all, even if it is only for a little while.

So when you go to the beach this summer, put down your phone and be present. Thank you for reading.

Inspiration

About the Creator

Kristen Ulrich

Please view my website:

http://www.bluerosesweb.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kristen UlrichWritten by Kristen Ulrich

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.