Writers logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

DEAR SOULMATE.

Thanks for being here. I hope this continues for a long time.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 14 days ago 3 min read

I’ve loved multiple people in this life and written poems of adoration a couple of times. But I figured I haven’t written a letter — a genuine, more than a paragraph long of words that encapsulate how my heart feels in readable characters. This will be my first love letter. First times. Although for the fact that we’re not each other’s firsts, were always particular about doing things together the first time. …

Out of my several hopeless romantic attempts of immortalizing men I adored (for a moment) through poems and elusive words, I realized I haven’t written a real-real-realest, genuine- most genuine love letter yet (emphasis on YET). I thought I had though. But if long paragraphs of breakup messages are counted, I wouldn’t be writing this article. But now, I wonder what must it feel like to fall in love so purely you write them a letter? Letters, at least for me, are a BIG DEAL I’LL MARRY YOU NOW type of adoration. If I receive one, I’d buy myself the ring and chain and drag the person who sent it for us to sign up for a marriage license application (jk but not jk). Exaggeration aside, I finished one beautiful letter and sealed it with a kiss.

To the man that I love,

A few days ago, I reflected on the beauty of handwritten letters with a friend. As we spoke, I shared a longing I’ve held for quite some time and that is to one day pour my heart out in a love letter. With that thought in mind, I couldn’t help but feel compelled to express my feelings for you in this manner, so here’s a letter for you:

I may not have met you yet, but in my heart, I feel a deep connection to you. I envision a love with you that completes me, where I can be entirely myself without hesitation. I know your love will bring me peace, joy, and hope for the future, easing the anxieties of my heart. I’ve often found myself longing for a love that feels effortless, where the timing is perfect and everything falls into place naturally.

If the sun were to rise tomorrow as it usually does, but this time without me in this world, I would want you to know how much I love, admire, and respect you. You're a terrific man, a man who has stood by my side through everything, and has loved me, supported me, and given my heart strength and shelter. In the short time that I've known you, not a day has gone by in which I wasn't overwhelmed with feelings of gratitude and affection. You've lent me your ear when I've needed to vent, and you've given me advice when I've felt lost. You've offered unwavering support when I've been scared. You've even challenged me when I needed it most. When I've been tired, you've helped me along

I love you. And not a day goes by that my heart doesn't tell you. But the silent words that whisper from my chest cannot be uttered in three little words (or 5,000 for that matter). Every time I try to describe the way I feel for you, the words seem trivial and hollow, and in fact, the whole English language seems insufficient. So now I am trying to write I love you, with the silent language of my soul as I pour myself out ... I hope you can sense these vibes as they might get into your heart and dance.

Thank you for being the embodiment of the love I’ve dreamt of. With you, I know I’ll feel safe and cherished, flaws and all. I know you will make me smile even in the toughest of times, and I’m grateful already for your unwavering love and support.

Perhaps when you read this your heart will translate the language of my passion, a language of bliss that exists only because of you.

With all my love,

Yours forever❤️

Shoutout

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen10 days ago

    Why is there a content warning? I see many people using them. This was a wonderful letter, I hope it manifests to the one it is meant for. Hi Catherine, hope all is well. Good luck with the letter.

  • Awww, this was so sweet and very touching. Keeping my fingers crossed for you to meet him soon 🤞🤞✨️❤️

  • Lakeia Hardnett14 days ago

    It feels like you’re manifesting this type of love and I’m excited for it to reveal itself to you. I love this!

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.