Writers logo

Clouds and Dirty Feet

Hannah's Challenge - Back in the Party

By Andrea Corwin Published 4 days ago 2 min read
author photo

For Hannah's Challenge (link at the end).

Watching wildlife and birds is relaxing for me. I like to sit and watch birds and butterflies when it isn't overly hot or windy outside. I examine the blooms of flowers and see how the leaves on bushes and trees float and bend in the breeze, sometimes showing their underside of a different color.

author photo

If there are clouds in the sky, I watch them and name the types as I look for faces, shapes, or creatures that the clouds resemble. Sirrus, Cumulous, Stratus; the dark, ominous thunderhead clouds fascinate me. I no longer live in Tornado Alley, so I can safely observe the cloud-o-sphere.

I am thrilled when, on a walk, I find huge rocks or streams that flow freely. A caterpillar may be inching its way on the rock, moss growing on it, tiny tadpoles swimming in a stream, or frogs hiding just below the surface, thinking I don't notice their eyes watching me.

When I was young, I just wanted to be outside playing or lying in the grass and looking at the sky. I felt constricted inside and immediately left the house after breakfast for my summer day of play and exploring. We lay in the grass watching the clouds or rolling down small hills. Frequently those explorations ended in itchy sores from chigger bites. My feet were always bare, and I remember my mother yelling at me, “Andi, don’t you dare get into bed with those filthy feet.” I would look at my soles and be astonished at how dark and dirty they were from my barefoot romps. How did she know the bottom of my feet were black with dirt? I never noticed until she said I had to wash them before climbing under the sheets.

Leonardo.Ai

It is always a challenge for me to take the time to enjoy nature when there are stories or poems I can write, and stories of Vocal Creators I can read and support. My priority is quiet time; I get lots of that and am grateful. Yet, my bad, I find myself reading on Vocal instead of diving into a book. I sit for hours on the computer; when I get up, my body is stiff! I need to watch shows I enjoy (maybe with hubby, maybe not), read, and not be on the computer for so long. My fingertips feel worn off many days from "mousing." (If I were fingerprinted, I'm sure the prints would not appear; they are worn off.) I MUST stop in the evening, or I won't sleep. It is understandable how other Creators are taking a break; they need a break. Some days, there is chaos, with writers publishing something every minute. Now, AI enters the equation. Overwhelming to sort through.

So, Hannah, this story includes some of my nature poems for you.

***

Copyright © 6/30/2024 by Andrea O. Corwin

Thanks for reading!! If you liked it, please give it a like ♡ and drop a comment in the conversation.

Hannah's Challenge:

ShoutoutVocalLifeInspirationCommunityChallenge

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin

https://atmospherepress.com/interview-with-andrea-corwin/

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Sarah Danielabout 22 hours ago

    What a beautiful reflection on the joys of nature and the challenges of balancing creative work with outdoor relaxation! Your descriptions evoke a sense of peace and nostalgia. Thank you for sharing this heartfelt piece, Andrea.

  • John Cox3 days ago

    Your take on your childhood exploring sounds a lot like mine, Andrea. I have never tired of the wild and all that you can see and experience if you have the patience for it!

  • This is a delightful tale… it reminded me that I like to ‘look for faces, shapes, or creatures that the clouds resemble…” It is too easy to get busy with life and forget to ‘smell the roses.’💚

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Lovely photo and story, Andrea!! Great entry for Hannah’s challenge!

  • ROCK 3 days ago

    Andi! My Mom and family call me "Andee". Haven't thought about chiggers in a long time. Menacing little buggers weren't they. I felt nostalgia and relaxed after reading this. I am in a cabin in the forest with on and off wifi, tethering data some, and hear nothing but birds and the chilly winds whisking through the tree limbs. Sweet. Thanks, Andi C.

  • Gloria Penelope3 days ago

    Your story is very inspiring, best to me as much as I love nature.

  • Novel Allen3 days ago

    Hannah will love this happy one. Just her, you and nature. Lovely.

  • Fly Alone3 days ago

    The simple joys of nature. Childhood. Nostalgia.

  • Challenging, I am learning new things in storytelling and writing, I'm really inspired. Great work.

  • Lana V Lynx4 days ago

    I’ve just listened to a great NPR Hidden Brain program on brain habituation that explains how our brain gets used to repetitive tasks and events. Take those breaks from the computer, Andrea, for your own sake. Love your support, though.

  • You're the complete opportunity of me! I cannotttttt stand the outdoors. I have to be indoors. But we are same in the way that we spend time reading on Vocal rather than a book, lol. My TBR is wayyyy well into 3 digits and keeps expanding hahahahaha

Andrea Corwin Written by Andrea Corwin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.