Writers logo

Challenge Three - Metaphor

Furnace, Midnight, Cottage, Hope and Ghost

By Denise E LindquistPublished 14 days ago β€’ Updated 14 days ago β€’ 2 min read
4
Challenge Three - Metaphor
Photo by Andrea De Santis on Unsplash

Day #3: Finding adjectives from nouns Pat Pattison, Song Writing without Boundaries

Metaphors will continue to be a struggle for me! I enjoy them but struggle with writing them and I am not finding them easy in much the same way I struggle with fiction. This is my way to attempt to get better. I thought of skipping this part but no, not me!

I would appreciate any tips to make this easier for me. I really do enjoy metaphors, I just can't consistently write them.

Please remember that when it is a timed writing, you may need to finish the line yourself.

Furnace

The hulking furnace in our basement was in the old part and looked so scary like the green hulk to a kid.

I felt so out of place at the dance, like the huge old furnace sitting in the backyard by the Rose bushes.

The colorful furnace was shining bright in the little corner of the basement. like a butterfly sitting on the bush in the corner of my garden!

90 second timed Furnace:

The colorful furnace was shining bright much like the dirt pile in the yard. What can I say, it was colorful and bright and in the way.

Midnight

Cold midnight shining light, clear skies, stars so bright, he is my midnight.

Like the lamp post on the wall way out in the yard is the cold midnight.

90 second timed Midnight:

A cool drink is like a cold midnight with stars so bright, who would know it wasn't so when your thirst is so powerful? The similarities end there.

Cottage

The cozy cottage at the end of the road reminds me of him in my arms.

Paradise in the woods is a cozy cottage.

90 second timed Cottage:

Cozy cottage in the ugly forest holds promise. The ugly forest holds the cozy cottage. My man is a cozy cottage.

Hope

A great hope coming true brings all wishes to fruition.

She felt so special holding great hope when reaching for the sky.

90 second timed Hope:

With hands outstretched, reaching for a great hope. Great hope is in the works for him when flying high. She wishes for great hope in her dreams. What can she do but cry for great hope

Ghost

The friendly ghost smiled like he did when on deaths door.

She recognized the friendly ghost as her father, standing flat.

90 second timed Ghost:

The bathroom mirror held the friendly ghost enthralled in the wall. How does the friendly ghost shine like shoes in the winter? The friendly ghost is like a salmon loaf. It is so fun to look at for a while but it doesn't last.

Writing ExercisePrompts
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson11 days ago

    Loved your writing samples!!! πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • Oooo, the ghost one was my favourite! You did so brilliantly with all of these!

  • Very well written! β™₯οΈβ€οΈπŸ’—πŸ’œ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.