Writers logo

Carpé Insaniam

Seize the Madness

By Brin J.Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 3 min read
5
*Unsplash* travis-gergen

I know the newest Challenge says to write a microfiction story about an invented word, but I couldn't resist the urge to do a little more.

This isn't microfiction; it's a micro-advice piece using a made-up phrase in hopes of inspiring some kind of positive change. Not that everyone needs a change. However, I notice many writers sharing their insecurities about their work, so I thought I'd offer an uplifting message.

From the dawn of storytellers, people viewed those with the ability to dream up anecdotes as eccentric and exaggerated, yet have still demanded entertainment from them. And they deliver without fail.

The irony is almost laughable. Because some of the most successful and talented storytellers in history were considered strange or far-reaching. But they didn't let others define their creativity. People like Shakespeare, Homer, George R. R. Martin, Tolken, and the like have all had their fair share of challenges, yet now their works are a part of our everyday lives. They became influential and world-renowned because they didn't let their critics impede their dreams.

I know what you're thinking: I'm no Tolken. I'm going to stop you right there. Because you can be. All it takes is your will.

I understand it's not that simple. Especially when we compare ourselves to big-time authors and poets, like Rowling and Poe, who are considered geniuses for their work. It makes us feel inadequate and little, which can be discouraging. So find your people, the ones who'll support you in your endeavors. Vocal is one of the best places for that, with a community of like-minded writers who will encourage you to keep going and want to see you succeed. That's why I'm here because I don't have support elsewhere.

I'm aware the support we need isn't always the support we get. We look to others for approval, hoping they'll see the value in our words. But sometimes what we get is the opposite. We're told to stop dreaming and be realistic, not realizing how their negativity can hinder our creativity. Those are not your people. Don't let them steal your talent. Don't let them steal the spark of madness that fuels you.

Humans have always had the natural ability to tell stories, yet those that incorporate a mythical element to their tales are considered unique. It's been proven time and time again that audiences are captivated and intrigued by these profound stories, lured in by the elaborate and fanciful ideas that the mind can craft. They marvel over how authors are capable of fabricating such complex worlds, wondering if maybe we have a bit of madness in us. And we do.

We lose ourselves in our own plots, form attachments to fictional characters, and dedicate ourselves to bringing them to life for others to experience. Our minds are never idle. Our fingers twitch with the urge to write out our next piece. This is more than a mere hobby for us; it's a fervent passion that we continually refine so we can share it with others.

Once we manage to capture the attention of an audience, they obsess over the words we've written.

In case I haven't made myself clear, you have power in your hand. Even when told the phrase- you're living in a fantasy.

So? What's wrong with that?

My response is this, quoting Walt Disney's famous words;

"Fantasy and reality often overlap."

As authors, we understand all too well the burdens of reality and thus aim to blend it with our fantasies. Sure, we sometimes become so immersed in our own narratives that we forget the world we've created only exists in writing. But where's the joy in life if we aren't living our dreams?

So I say, let your imagination run wild.

Carpé insaniam; seize the madness.

ShoutoutWriter's BlockLifeInspirationCommunityAdvice
5

About the Creator

Brin J.

I never believed the sky is the limit, therefore my passions are expansive. My interest in writing stemmed from poetry but my heart lead me to Sci-Fi Fantasy. Consequently, my stories are plot-driven with splashes of evocative elements.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock6 months ago

    If we cannot dream it, how can we ever become it? Only by accident, not by design or with intent. But what if I can no longer remember my waking dreams?

  • StoryholicFinds6 months ago

    Love it ❤️

  • Reading this put a smile on my face! Thank you so much for writing this! It's so uplifting!

  • Dana Stewart6 months ago

    An excellent piece, Brin! I absolutely loved reading this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.