Writers logo

Angie’s Artifacts

Unearthing Treasures in Vocal

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 2 months ago Updated 3 days ago 3 min read
15
Angie’s Artifacts
Photo by Trnava University on Unsplash

Wow!😮 What an amazingly, heart warming story! This is commonly a reaction of mine when reading Vocal poems and stories. Afterwards, I diligently try to maintain concentration long enough to add a 🖤 (sometimes succeeding)… and then continue on to peruse the Comment section…

How can there not be a single comment yet? It’s been a month since this story was published. I guess Dharrsheena must have been ’catching a rare, 57 winks’ when this story came out! Yes! You may be surprised to realise that even she can’t keep up with every single story published on Vocal!

It saddens me when excellent stories and poems seem to go unnoticed. Just as well we write for our own enjoyment and anything else is delicious icing on the cake!

In December, Judey Kalchik published some Easy Writing Prompts and I attempted a few of them. One prompt which I tried, was to select stories from three different writers and comment on them.

I plan to shine a spotlight upon three stories from various Communities. Care to tag along as a fellow archaeologist, while I excavate on ‘digs’…sometimes delving more deeply than others? Naturally, artefacts vary greatly in age, size and perceived value.

⛏️ ⚒️ 🔎

In Poets, John Cox’s Remember the Waves took me back to the exhilarating, carefree days in my youth… sunshine, sea and smiles; family, fun and feasting on my Nana’s yummy cooking. His Villanelle has beautiful rhythm and rhyme and vividly captures life as we see it through the eyes of youth… and then later as we continue on our life’s journey.

Do you remember when we did not fear?

Limbs flailing in the wild sea's waves and sand,

Boldly daring the depths coating Earth's sphere.

⛏️ ⚒️ 🔎

Another gem, barely covered in dust, was discovered in BeatsAndy Potts’ “Playlist: Folksy Flavours: Three great female voices from NE England in the run-up to International Women's Day.”

Despite having a preference for almost any variety of Rock music and next to zero chance of ever visiting Great Britain, I found this to be a fascinating read. I thoroughly enjoyed the film clips, songs (tunes; instruments and lyrics) and Andy’s review of them. To my surprise, I even added a Folk album to my Apple playlist… there’s a first time for everything, and this was it!

Amelia Coburn - See Saw

With echoes of a nursery rhyme, and lyrics that gently straddle the boundary between fairy tale and dark fantasy, this is a delight.

The video, which continues Amelia’s collaboration with the Whippet Up puppet theatre, is also well worth a look, highlighting some acting talent to go with the music.

⛏️ ⚒️ 🔎

In Fiction, very little excavating was required to find Kelsey Clarey’s delightful anecdote told by The B & B Bear. This adorable bear has quite a tale to tell, and happily for him, all ends well. This Microfiction brought a smile to my heart and cheer to my day.

I continued to pose for social media pictures all over the property and doing just about every job. Helping Lucy check in guests, traveling on the housekeeper's cart, sampling new menu items from the kitchen -- I truly did it all! Honestly, I've become a bit famous since I've been here.

I’m keen to enjoy any Vocal artifacts that you come across in your wanderings… please share their links in the comments section.

⛏️ ⚒️ 🔎

The title Angie’s Artifacts was inspired by Donna Fox’s story in December 2023 where she invited us to become archaeologists and unearth forgotten treasures in Vocal… a thoroughly worthwhile endeavour.

***

Below is my first story shining the spotlight on three, impressive, fellow creators.

Shoutout
15

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Lol, I told ya that I'm not everywhere and that I do sleep 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 But seriously though, I have no idea how I missed all 3 of these pieces! Thank you so much for digging them up! I'll get to them soon! Also, love the title Angie's Artifacts!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I like this idea, good for you!

  • Kelsey Clarey2 months ago

    Thank you for including me on this list!

  • Suze Kay2 months ago

    What an awesome project. Thanks for sharing these undersung pieces, Angie!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Very cool idea, Angie! Love that you’ve searched out some hidden treasures and spotlighted them so well! Awesome title too!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    I enjoyed this collection of wonderful works :)

  • Excellent piece. Remember the waves was so good

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Thank you so much for the shout out, Angie! I loved Andy Potts’ “Playlist: Folksy Flavours: Three great female voices from NE England in the run-up to International Women's Day,” and Kelsey Clarey's B&B Bear! Both writers are new to me and wonderful discoveries. It is very kind of you to take the effort to curate essays, stories and poems that other readers on Vocal might enjoy. Great introductions to each as well!

  • Andy Potts2 months ago

    Thanks for including me in here. I'm sure there will be some rock in future playlists - folk is a relatively new diversion for me, I started out as a proper indie kid back in the early days of Britpop.

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    Love that you are highlighting these! ☺️ it’s so hard to get eyes on your work here, especially early on.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Thanks, Angie. I usually put gems I've read (and can remember) in the Raise Your Voice thread. I've read John's and loved it but I will have a look at the others you have recommended and comment. I love it when other writers on Vocal share their find. It's great! Kudos to you!

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    This is a great idea, Angie! Love these kinda curated lists...might still do some more of my own version that I did last year, but you've given me some reading material! Fab!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.