Writers logo

All Writers Need Feedback

It's not there to hurt you

By Elise L. BlakePublished about a month ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2024
25
All Writers Need Feedback
Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

I was recently having a conversation with a new writer about her novel.

She is currently in the process of editing her work and to be supportive I offered to give it a read and give her some feedback -  she told me that she did not want anyone reading it until it was published. 

I asked her about editors, beta readers, or sensitivity readers and she told me that she did not want anyone reading it before it was published. 

I wish her the best of luck, but as I told her and will now tell you - 

Publishing a novel without feedback is setting it up for failure. 

Feedback - whether from fellow writers, beta readers, or editors is an essential part of novel writing that can not be skipped. 

Receiving feedback is more than just having someone else point out mistakes in your novel or tell you all the places that you may have gone wrong. It's about finding out which part of your novel may show your weaknesses as well as strengths, finding places where your story might have rambled on, or places where the plot holes were so large the reader could have put their arms through the page. 

Feedback hurts, and I understand why there are writers who are afraid of it - but if you're afraid of hearing from one of your closest friends or your fellow writers that something in your story isn't working - then you are not ready to put your book in front of the public with a limitless amount of people the opportunity to give you all the feedback they wish. 

When it's too late for you to fix it 

Positive and negative feedback is there for one reason and one reason only - to help you make your story the best it can be. 

I wish we could do it ourselves, but it's not possible. 

After writing and reading and writing and editing our story -  eventually, we reach a point where we grow blind to the errors and we wouldn't be able to point them out if we had a magnifying glass. 

I once handed a novel over to a beta reader to discover I had changed the protagonist's name halfway through the story. I had edited that novel more times than I could even begin to count - and I never noticed. 

If you're not ready to share your work with someone close to you to receive feedback - you are not ready to share it with readers.

Take the leap of faith.

Make your novel the best that it can be. 

Best of luck. 

With love, 

B.K. xo xo

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

*If you've liked what you read you can show your support by subscribing, pledging your support, or leaving me a tip that directly supports and aids me as a writer.

By joining Vocal+ you can earn more per read on every story you publish on Vocal.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

This story was originally posted on Medium.

Help power my writing with a virtual coffee! Starting at just $1! Your support keeps my creativity brewing! ☕

Thank you for your support and happy writing!

Instagram | TikTok | Twitter | Threads | Youtube | Facebook | Twitch

ProcessGuidesAdvice
25

About the Creator

Elise L. Blake

Elise is a full-time writing coach and novelist. She is a recent college graduate from Southern New Hampshire University where she earned her BA in Creative Writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson14 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story. I cannot imagine trying to publish without requesting and receiving feedback. I would caveat that by saying I'd want wise critique and not just flattery, but otherwise, there's no way I'd seek to publish without eyes on the project! Thanks for writing.

  • Janee Austen24 days ago

    Nicely said, congratulations on your top story

  • Ameer Bibi26 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉 for top story You're on a roll! Your motivation is igniting a path to greatness

  • jidaxi27 days ago

    Future in our hands. Every technology is on your door step. We Enhance to our future to be powerful. Like super think extreme that is Supreme Mobiles!! <a href="https://suprememobiles.in/">SupremeMobiles.in!</a> Check it out

  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Caroline Craven27 days ago

    Yikes. I wouldn’t want to publish without feedback… I think you def need a balance of people telling you which bits they like and which bits suck and why they don’t work. Great article with some sound advice.

  • angela hepworth27 days ago

    Great writing here, feedback from others is so so important.

  • Andy Potts27 days ago

    At the same time, I find giving feedback very tough. Can take a fair bit of diplomacy to remain honest without potentially offending people. I'd probably be happier working with someone I don't know all that closely - helping my wife brush up her CV almost had us calling the lawyers!

  • JBaz27 days ago

    Very good advice, feedback before you publish.

  • That’s why I prefer the gatekeeping of traditional publishing. As far as self publishing goes, you must be very careful about who the feedback is coming from. I personally never listen to anyone who isn’t more successful than me, or a professional editor. Listening to the wrong people will have you making the same mistakes they’ve made that have held them back.

  • I fear that not only do some writers think this is an optional step, but that editing *at all* is an optional step (whether it's based on their own instincts or an external perspective). Especially in the days of writing platforms like Vocal and free publishing services like KDP where there is nothing stopping you from sending your first draft onto into the world except your own standards. And, hey, I certainly am guilty of posting a few first drafts on my old WordPress blog. But I never even considered it when it came to my novel manuscripts, and now I apply that standard to all my writing.

  • Farhat Naseem27 days ago

    keep up the good work

  • IkonIk27 days ago

    This is so true. In high school in my writing days I'd always hand them to my friend to read. To be fair he was my critic and audience as well as everyone else in class. It's always useful to know when you're doing too much or too little.

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    I like getting feedback on the critiques and other items that I write. It is very necessary.

  • Rene Petersabout a month ago

    There are times I ask for feedback before I even post here. I'll send a screenshot and ask what the other person thinks. I always tell people that I appreciate constructive criticism

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I absolutely want feedback and often feel frustrated when I get short comments from readers who are also writer's who might give me an idea of why entries into, for example, challenges, are never quite good enough. What could I have done? Written less, more? Am I too wordy? Important article Barbara! Thank you!

  • Allwyn Roman Waghelaabout a month ago

    Feedbacks aren’t always negative. They are meant to upgrade your skills and not to downgrade them.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.