Writers logo

A Twist of Fate

A Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like
A Twist of Fate
Photo by giano currie on Unsplash

I come from a proud historic past. My family lived here since the 1800's. We've been proud of our roots and where we came from. We come from the island. The island where there is always a celebration. We love to dance. We love to sing. We love. We love everything about our culture. My first love was the food that my mother cooked. She would make everything you could think in the Cuban cuisine. And my family would love to gather around the table and enjoy a good meal. That's what inspired me to cook. I wanted to cook since age 12. And I finally got my chance in school, there was a baking contest in Home Economics. I was dying to show how good of a cook I was especially for Papi. Oohh Papi was fine. He was smart. He was strong. And he was every woman dream. Papi blowed my mind the time he sat next to me in the classroom. And he was sweet, he had the nicest attitude. Even when I was acting clumsy, Papi would gently smile. And so I wanted to bake my mother's special Cuban cuisine. And she showed me how many times but I got kinda of nervous. And she stopped the last time and asked me what was a matter. I said Papi is gonna eat some and I don't know what he is gonna think. And my mother stopped and hugged me and kiss me on the forehead. She said Maime' everything is gonna be okay. But I said Mommie that mean girl Pristine is gonna be there. She and her gang of friends. They are always picking on me. And she wants Papi. And she is the meanest girl in the whole school. Plus she rich and gets anything she wants. My mother said Maime' don't worry girl. You got this. You are pretty. You are smart. You are beautiful. I said Okay okay Mommie.

Before the bakeoff, there was this school dance. I made sure my grades were up to par. I made sure my homework and chores were done. I did everything Mommie told me. And after talking to grandma and grandpa, I got up the nerves to ask Mommie. And I did in front of my grandparents for support. And I promise her that I would be with a group of friends who were supportive. And that my group of friends would be all girls. And she finally without hesitation agreed. I yelled. I jumped. I shouted. I screamed. And Mommie said calm down girl. It's just a dance unless that boy is there. You know Papi. I fell into a daydream. Mommie I wished that my first kiss be with a handsome, strong, smart. loving man who would sweep me off my feet while the moon stood still in the background. And I'm dressed in a lovely beautiful grown and my hair done just right, said Maime'. Mommie stopped her and told her if she doesn't hurry up then she would not make it to the dance.

Hours and hours later, Maime''s friends yelling and honking the horn, and they are saying Come on Maime' Maime' hurry up. You're gonna make us late. Maime' finally comes out the house dressed like a Modern Princess without a tiara. Maime' yelled back at them, You know a girl got to look ripe for her man. Shhh don't say his name. Let's surprise him. So Maime' and her friends speed to the dance at their high school. They are singing their favorite song and popular songs all the way and they made it. And Maime' friends were praising Maime' look and Maime' was complimenting them. And on their way to the dance, Papi in a deluxe tuxedo walk out. And Maime' friends signaled for her to go after him. Papi you know I came for you. You know I love like you said Maime'. Before Papi could say a word Pristine came out. Pristine said You know you are my man. You know you belong to me. I am the best you ever had handsome. Papi looked shocked and stood behind Maime'. Listen little ho. He is not your man. He is my man. Probably because nobody want to be with the ugliest girl in the school maybe the world. Yeah you're rich but you are a snot. So why don't you take your ugly tail back in the dance and find someone else or I'll punch the rest of your face, said Maime'. Pristine gave an ugly look and walk away. And Papi was excited and grab Mamie' tightly and hug her. Then Papi asked to kiss her. Maime' looked for the Moon and the beautiful background and she kiss him.

Then weeks later, at the bakeoff, Maime' finally got the recipe right by her mother. She named the Cuban cuisine after her mother. And she was the second to last to get there. But everybody passed by her table no matter how times she smiled and looked cute. Except Papi, Papi brought his friends as the most popular boy in school. And Papi tasted her mother's cuisine. And his friends tasted the cuisines. Papi looked at his friends and his friends looked at him. And they shouted and threw their thumbs up. Then everybody wanted to tasted Maime' dish for the bakeoff contest. Then suddenly Pristine came back but this time Maime' friends came to defend her. Pristine turned ugly and said nasty words. Maime's friends said Hey Pristine why so prissy? Huh why so prissy? Pristine's friends scattered. And Maime' friends crowded her. Pristine said I may be ugly. I may can't cook. But I am rich and somebody. Now I got to go. And Maime' won the bakeoff contest and she invited Papi over for the family dinner. As Maime' introduced Papi, she reminded her mother that she said she could have a boyfriend. Then she announced Papi was her man. And the family celebrated.

Challenge
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.